Tonight: Finland picks for Athens

by Richard West-Soley 75 views

After four semi finals reducing twenty-four songs down to twelve, tonight Finland finally gets to choose the one which will represent the country in Athens this May.

The songs and order of performance for the show are as follows:

1. Anika Eklund – Shanghain valot
2. Nina & Hanna-Riikka – Who I am
3. Safe Six – I can't wait
4. Kilpi – Katharsis
5. Jane – V.I.P.
6. Marita Taavitsainen – Enkeli itkee
7. Katariina Hänninen – Devil on my shoulder
8. Johanna Pakonen – Kerta viimeinen
9. Ville Pusa & Christa Renwall – Eternally
10. Lordi – Hard rock hallelujah
11. Jennie – Take me higher
12. Tomi Metsäketo – Eternamente Maria

During the broadcast, an initial vote will whittle the twelve songs down to six, which will then face a final judgement. The winner of this second round will be crowned the Finnish representative for the 2006 Eurovision Song Contest.

Finland finds itself once more in the qualifier round of the contest this year, after Geir Rönning's disappointing placing with the song Why? in 2005. Finnish hopes for a first successful qualifier entry will be pinned on tonight's winner, after two years of failing to make it to the international final.

The selection Eurovision Laulukilpailu can be seen from 19.00 CET on TV2 and heard on Radio Suomi and Radio Vega.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!

Richard West-Soley

Senior Editor

Richard's ESC history began way back in 1992, when he discovered the contest could fuel his passion for music and languages. Since then, it's been there at every corner for him in some way or another. He joined the team back in 2006, and quickly developed a love for writing about the contest. In his other life, he heads the development team at the learning resources company Linguascope, and writes about all aspects of language learning on the site