Expressen rumours about artists Copenhagen

by Sietse Bakker 45 views

The Swedish newspaper Expressen claims to know a number of past Eurovision Song Contest participants who will attend the 50th anniversary show Congratulations, which will take place on 22nd October in Copenhagen, Denmark.

As already known Céline Dion (Switzerland 1988), Cliff Richard (UK 1968, 1973), France Gall (Luxembourg 1965) and ABBA (Sweden1974) will not be present. Disappointing for host broadcaster DR, fans and television audience, as some of the most famous Eurovision Song Contest winners will not join the anniversary of 'their' contest.

Expressen claims to know the following artists will be present in Copenhagen, to join the celebrations;

� Lys Assia (Switzerland 1956)
� Vicky Leandros (Luxembourg 1972)
� Mocedades (Spain 1973)
� Brotherhood of Man (United Kingdom 1976)
� Nicole (Germany 1982)
� the Bobbysocks (Norway 1985)
� Sandra Kim (Belgium 1986)
� Johnny Logan (Ireland 1980, 1987)
� Katrina & The Waves (United Kingdom 1997)
� Dana International (Israel 1998)
� Olsen Brothers (Denmark 2000)
� Sertab Erener (Turkey 2003)
� Ruslana (Ukraine 2004)
� Helena Paparizou (Greece 2005)

In one way, the list is remarkable; Lys Assia, Vicky Leandros, the Bobbysocks, Katrina & The Waves and Ruslana are not elected among the 14 songs participating in the all-time best Eurovision Song Contest song election. In which way these artists will play a role in the event is unknown. Earlier, DR's Commissioning Editor for the show, Søren Therkelsen, mentioned to there are “discussions about various ways of participation on a very constructive level”.

It's still not clear what the anniversary show will exactly look like. Earlier, host broadcaster DR promised an orchestra, but meanwhile announced the 14 songs of the best-of contest will be elected based on the original videos. We asked DR for a reaction, to clear up the numerous misconceptions about the show.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!