Iceland: Söngvakeppni Sjónvarpsins song titles announced

by Stella Floras 451 views

RUV, the Icelandic broadcaster have just announced the titles and the creators of the 12 songs which will be competing for the honour to represent the country in the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest. The performers will be revealed at a later date.

A record number of 240 songs was received this year by RUV, out of those 12 have been selected to compete in this year’s Icelandic preselection which includes two semi finals to be held on Friday and Saturday 25 and 26 January. Τhe Final will take place the following week, on Saturday 2 February at the Harpa Concert Hall. All songs will compete in Icelandic but the language in which the winning song will be performed on Eurovision stage will be decided by the composers.

From each semi final, the three most popular songs with the televoters will qualify to the final. The expert jury has the right to award one more song a Wildcard possibly raising the number of finalists to seven. In the final, after a first round of voting, a Super Final phase will determine which of the two songs with the highest scores from the combined televote and jury vote will go to Malmo.

The 12 competing songs are as follows:

Augnablik Music: Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson Lyrics: Ingibjörg Gunnarsdóttir
Ég á líf Music and Lyrics: Örlygur Smári and Pétur Örn Guðmundsson
Sá sem lætur hjartað ráða för Music: Þórir Úlfarsson Lyrics: Kristján Hreinsson
Þú Music og Lyrics: Davíð Sigurgeirsson
Vinátta Music and Lyrics: Haraldur Reynisson
Ekki líta undan Music: Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson Lyrics: Ingibjörg Gunnarsdóttir
Kem til þín Music and Lyrics: María Björk Sverrisdóttir
Lífið Music: Hallgrímur Óskarsson Lyrics: Bragi Valdimar Skúlason
Ég syng! Music: Elíza Newman, Gísli Kristjánsson and Ken Rose Lyrics:Elíza Newman, Gísli Kristjánsson and Hulda G. Geirsdóttir
Til þín Music: Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson Lyrics: Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson og Ágúst Ibsen
Meðal andanna Music: Birgitta Haukdal, Sylvía Haukdal Brynjarsdóttir and Jonas Gladnikoff Lyrics: Birgitta Haukdal, Sylvía Haukdal Brynjarsdóttir, Michael James Down and Primoz Poglajen
Hjartað   Composers & Lyricists: Hallgrímur Óskarsson & Ashley Hicklin

Source: RUV

Stella Floras

Thanks to Johnny Logan and Hold me now I fell in love with the Eurovision Song Contest, a love that's been going strong ever since with undiminished passion. My first memories date back to 1977 and the lyrics of Rock bottom, Dschinghis Khan and A ba ni bi are still engraved in my brain.

I joined in 2006 as a junior editor after being invited by Barry Viniker, I soon became Senior Editor and during the 2007 contest in Helsinki I was appointed Head of Communications. Today I hold the post of Head of Human Resources and I am proud to be working with the best editorial team in the world.