EBU released official list of participants 2004

by Sietse Bakker 247 views

Svante Stockselius, supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest at the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), released the official list of participants of the contest's 2004 edition, which will take place in Istanbul. Participating countries cannot withdraw anymore without financial consequences.

Directly qualified for the final, which will take place on Saturday, 15th May (14 countries):

Austria (ORF)
Belgium (VRT)
France (FR3)
Germany (ARD)
Iceland (RUV)
Ireland (RTE)
Norway (NRK)
Poland (TVP)
Romania (TVR)
Russia (C1R)
Spain (TVE)
Sweden (SVT)
Turkey (TRT)
United Kingdom (BBC)

In the qualifying round, which will take place on Wednesday, 12th May, the following countries will participate:

Albania (ALRTV)
Andorra (RTVA)
Belarus (BTRC)
Bosnia & Hercegovina (RTVBiH)
Cyprus (CyBC)
Croatia (HRT)
Denmark (DR)
Estonia (ETV)
Finland (YLE)
FYR Macedonia (MTV)
Greece (ERT)
Israel (IBA)
Latvia (LTV)
Lithuania (LRT)
Malta (PBS)
Monaco (TMC)
Netherlands (NOS)
Portugal (RTP)
Serbia & Montenegro (YRT/RTS/RTCG)
Slovenia (RTVSLO)
Switzerland (SFDRS)
Ukraine (NTU)

The total number of participating countries is 36. The 10 best placed countries from the Qualifying round will go to the Final on Saturday, 15th May. 22 songs will participate in the Qualifying round. The draw for the running order (both qualifier and final) will be held in Istanbul, Turkey, on 22nd March.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!