Eurovision 2024: EBU releases the Official Participants List

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 1,874 views

The EBU (European Broadcasting Union) has released the list of the 2024 Eurovision Song Contest participating countries today. A total of 37 countries will compete in Malmo, Sweden.

31 countries will compete in the 2 semi-finals scheduled to be held on 07 and 09 May. A total of 26 countries will compete in the grand final on 11 May.

The Big 5 countries (Spain, United Kingdom, France, Italy and Germany) and the ESC 2024 winner Sweden are automatically qualified to compete in the grand final. Hence 20/33 countries will proceed from the semi-finals to the grand final and join the Big 5  and Sweden.

Hence 37 nations will be battling for the coveted Eurovision trophy in Malmo next year.

Participating countries

  1. Albania
  2. Armenia
  3. Australia
  4. Austria
  5. Azerbaijan
  6. Belgium
  7. Croatia
  8. Cyprus
  9. Czech Republic
  10. Denmark
  11. Estonia
  12. Finland
  13. France
  14. Germany
  15. Georgia
  16. Greece
  17. Iceland
  18. Ireland
  19. Israel
  20. Italy
  21. Latvia
  22. Lithuania
  23. Luxembourg
  24. Malta
  25. Moldova
  26. The Netherlands
  27. Norway
  28. Poland
  29. Portugal
  30. San Marino
  31. Serbia
  32. Slovenia
  33. Spain
  34. Sweden
  35. Switzerland
  36. Ukraine
  37. United Kingdom

Luxembourg will be returning to the competition. There will be no debuting countries in the contest next year either. Romania’s participation at the 2024 Eurovision Song Contest is still under discussion and is yet unclear if TVR will grace the Eurovision stage in Malmo. TVR is holding talks with the EBU regarding its potential Eurovision 2024 participation.

The 2024 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 07, 09 and 11 May at the Malmo Arena in Malmo, Sweden.

Source: EBU/SVT
Photo credit: Per Petersson/Visit Sweden