Eurovision 2019: Jury members are now revealed

by Stratos Agadellis 3,467 views

Who are those jury members that are going to form a 50% percentage of the final outcome? We now know! A little earlier, the European Broadcasting Union made public the full list of the jury members of all 41 participating countries!

Since the return of the juries in 2009, each nation’s jury panel consists of five music experts that cast their votes on the day before each of the 3 live shows of this year’s Eurovision Song Contest. As with the public, the juries cannot vote for their own country. Τhe objective criteria according to which committees are invited to vote are the following: the singer’s vocal ability, stage performance, the song’s composition and originality and the overall impression of the live appearance.

Only citizens of the country concerned may be members of the committee, while nobody is able to take a seat in the panel if they have already done so in the last two editions of the contest. Moreover, all 205 jury members have to be at least 16 years old.

Each jury panel will be awarding its own set of points, within the traditional Eurovision style (1 to 8, 10 and 12 points). The eventual verdict of the jury will be emerging according to the exponential model, which was initially introduced last year in Lisbon.

Among the unveiled jury members, we can meet several familiar faces, such as former Eurovision entrants, composers, TV hosts etc. Some of the past participants who will be retuning in a different role this year are: Franka (Croatia 2018), Michael Schulte (Germany 2018), Mária Olafs (Iceland 2015), the Tolmachevy Twins (Russia 2014), David Feito (Spain 2013 as part of ESDM group).

The full list of the 2019 juries is now available and you can download it here.

Below we may recall last year’s jury results, as announced by the spokespersons. Their winner was Cesár Sampson from Austria with 271 points, while the overall Eurovision winner Netta had placed 3rd with 212 points.