Introducing 2011: Russia

by Marcus Klier 90 views

All songs for the Eurovision Song Contest 2011 have been selected. During the weeks between the national final season and the actual Eurovision Song Contest, we will introduce all 43 entries in random order. We are half way through and part thirty-nine of the series is dedicated to the Russian entry.

Basic information

Performer: Alexej Vorobjov (�лек�ей �о�об��в)
Song: Get you
Language: English
Music: Alexej Vorobjov, RedOne, AJ Junior, Bilal "The Chef", Eric Sanicola
Lyrics: Alexej Vorobjov, RedOne, AJ Junior, Bilal "The Chef", Eric Sanicola

7th in the first semi final

The song

Get you is an up-tempo dance pop song. Through the lyrics, the protagonist tells the girl he desires that he has come to win her over:

If they watch
Let them watch
Not losing you tonight

Oh oh
I'm coming to get you
Oh oh oh
I'm running I'm gunning for you

The performer

Alexej Vorobjov, also known as Alex Sparrow, has been competing in music festivals since his childhood. Later he graduated from music schools as an acordonist and as a vocalist. In 2005, he competed in the Russian edition of the X-Factor finishing third. His debut album was released the year after and a string of recordings have followed since.

In 2008, he competed in the Russian national final for the Eurovision Song Contest for the first time. With the song New Russian kalinka he came fith. The year after he returned and finished fourth in the televoting with Angelom byt. In 2011, he was chosen internally to represent Russia at the Eurovision Song Contest in Düsseldorf with Get you.

The songwriters

Get you was written by Alexej Vorobjov himself, RedOne, AJ Junior, Bilal "The Chef" and Eric Sanicolay. RedOne is best known as co-producer of most of Lady GaGas hits including Pokerface and Bad romance. He is also the man behind Jennifer Lopez' current hit On the floor. Bilal has written songs for acts such as Kat DeLuna, Nicole Scherzinger and Backstreet Boys. Eric Sanicola has worked with David Bisbal.

The national selection

For the first time since 2007, singer and song were chosen internally.

Russia in the Eurovision Song Contest

Russia entered the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994 and despite a debutin the top ten, mediocre placings followed in 1995 and 1997 as well as an elimination in the 1996 internal semi final. This turnedwiththe year 2000, whenRussia finished second in Stockholm. In the last decade, Russiawon once, finished secondtwice and third twice making it one of the most successful countries in recent years. However, in 2009 and 2010 they finished outside the top ten twice in a row.


This will be Russia's 15th participation in the Eurovision Song Contest. For the fourth time only the country is represented by a male solo performer. As Dima Bilan represented Russia twice, Alexej Vorobjov is third male solo singer to compete for the country in total. For the tenth in twelve times since the abolishment of the language rule in 1999, the Russian entry is performed entirely in English.

Get you is the seventh song to be performed in the first semi final. It is preceeded by the retro-style up-tempo pop song from Serbia and it is followed by the acoustic guitar pop song from Switzerland. Remarkbaly, the Russian entry is the last one in the streak of energetic songs at the beginning of the first semi final.

Ð�Ñ� желаем ÐоÑ�Ñ�ии и Ð�лекÑ�ей Ñ�даÑ�и и Ñ�Ñ�пеÑ�ов на Ð�вÑ�овидении в Ð�Ñ�Ñ�Ñ�елÑ�доÑ�Ñ�е!


The preview video:

The official video clip:

2008 Russian national final performance:

Performance in 2009 (audio only):

Shout it out, another song:

Tomorrow, we will take a look at the UK entry.

Previous parts of the series:

  1. Estonia
  2. Italy
  3. Croatia
  4. Slovakia
  5. Lithuania
  6. Finland
  7. Switzerland
  8. Ukraine
  9. Norway
  10. Moldova
  11. Belgium
  12. Azerbaijan
  13. Ireland
  14. Portugal
  15. Austria
  16. Latvia
  17. France
  18. Bosnia & Herzegovina
  19. Romania
  20. Sweden
  21. Bulgaria
  22. Armenia
  23. Denmark
  24. Cyprus
  25. Spain
  26. Belarus
  27. San Marino
  28. Malta
  29. Germany
  30. Georgia
  31. Greece
  32. Iceland
  33. Serbia
  34. Turkey
  35. Netherlands
  36. Hungary
  37. Albania
  38. Slovenia