Portugal: Festival da Cançao 2019 running order determined: voting lines open

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 653 views

RTP, the Portuguese national broadcaster has unveiled the running order of the grand final of Festival da Cançao 2019 and has opened the voting lines for the Portuguese public to cast their vote.

We will be travelling to Portimao this Saturday for the grand final of Festival da Cançao 2019 where a total of 8 acts will battle for the golden ticket to Eurovision 2019.

The Grand Final of FdC 2019 will be held at the Portimao Arena in Portimao and will be hosted by Filomena CautelaVasco Palmeirim. The show will be broadcast live on RTP 1 at 22:00 CET.

The 2019 Portuguese Eurovision entry and act will be determined via 50/50 regional jury- televoting deliberation.

RTP has revealed the running order of the grand final and opened the voting lines for the audience to vote.

The FdC 2019 running order

Calema will open the show whilst Ana Maria will be the last act to take the stage in the grand final

  1. Calema-A dois
  2. Mariana Bragada- Mar doce
  3. Matay- Perfeito
  4. Surma- Pugna
  5. NBC- Igual a ti
  6. Madrepaz- Mundo a mudar
  7. Conan Isiris- Telemoveis
  8. Ana Claudia- Inercia  

RTP has opened the voting lines and revealed the phone numbers for each of the eight competing acts.

Festival da Canção 2019

The 2019 FdC consists of three shows (two semi-finals and a grand final).

A total of 16 acts  battled for the golden ticket to Tel Aviv, 8 acts competed in each semi-final, the top 4 entries from each semi-final proceeded to the Grand Final of FdC.  Hence 8 acts will fight for the right to represent Portugal at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in the Portuguese national final.

  • 02/03/2019-Festival da Cançao Grand Final

The semi-finals were held at the RTP Studios in Lisbon whilst the the grand final will be held in Portimão.

Portugal in Eurovision

Portugal debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1964 and has won the competition once, namely in 2017 with Salvador Sobral‘s Amor pelo dois. The country successfully hosted the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon.

Portugal has competed 50 times in the Eurovision Song Contest and will see its 51st participation in Tel Aviv this year.

In 2018 Claudia  Pascoal & Isaura were crowned the winners of Festival da Cançao and had the honour to defend the Portuguese colours at the Eurovision Song Contest on home soil with their entry O Jardim. Despite a beautiful peformace the 2018 ESC host nation finished last in the Grand Final.