Watch now: Denmark goes for Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2019!

by Stratos Agadellis 1,838 views

Travelling up to the north, the Kingdom of Denmark will tonight become the very first Scandinavian nation to decide upon their Eurovision 2019 act. By continuing the annual tradition, the country will pick their Eurovision representative through their national selection event Dansk Melodi Grand Prix, which will be broadcast live from the city of Herning!

This is going to be the 49th edition of the popular Danish competition, which marks high audience rates every year. The event will be returning to Herning for the 5th time, presented by Johannes Nymark and Kristian Gintberg. The 10 acts that will fight to snatch the victory and the Danish ticket to Tel Aviv are the following:

  1. Simone Emilie – Anywhere
  2. Jasmin Gabay – Kiss like this
  3. Rasmus Faartoft – Hold my breath
  4. Marie Isabell – Dancing with you in my heart
  5. Sigmund – Say my name
  6. Humørekspressen – Dronning af baren
  7. Julie & Nina – League of light
  8. Teit Samsø – Step it up
  9. Leonora – Love is forever
  10. Leeloo – That vibe

Voting format

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2019 will conclude in two voting rounds, which will lead up to the winner’s announcement. Following the participants’ live performances, the 10 entries will be dropped down to 3, both by the public votes, as well as an expert jury panel. These top 3 entries will meet in the second round, the show’s superfinal, where the victorious act will be crowned by a 50/50 televoting/jury vote deliberation, once again.

It’s noteworthy that this year, viewers from Greenland will also be able to watch and cast their votes. The show will air live on KNR (Greenlandic Broadcasting Corporation), at 16:00 local time. Greenland is an autonomous constituent country of the Kingdom of Denmark.

How to watch

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2019 will be airing live from 20:00 CET and may be followed on:

Last year’s winner of DMGP, Rasmussen delivered an extraordinary performance of his entry Higher ground, which was reminscent of the Vikings era. He received a respectable 9th place in the final, with a total of 226 points.

As of the 2019 semi-final allocation draw, the winner of DMGP 2019 and therefore Denmark’s Eurovision entrant will perform in the first half of the second semi-final evening on 16 May.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!