Denmark: Announcement on February 3rd

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 59 views

Danish national broadcaster DR has announced that it will reveal the names of the 10 candidates that will battle against each another in the forthcoming Danish Eurovision national final on the 3rd of February in a press conference. The Danes will select their Eurovision entry for Düsseldorf on the 26th of February.

DR, the Danish national broadcaster, will be holding a press conference at DRByen,on the 3rd of February in order to announce the 10 hopeful acts that will compete in the Danish Eurovision 2011 national final. 4 candidates will be wildcards, selected by the Danish television, whilst the other 6 candidates will be chosen from the 663 entries which applied for the open selection.

Felix Smith and Lise Rønne, of X Factor fame, will host the 2011 Dansk Melodi Grand Prix, from the Ballerup Super Arena.

Denmark has won the Eurovision Song Contest twice in 1963 and 2000, and has hosted it twice in Copenhagen in 1964 at Tivoli and in 2000 at the Parken Arena. Copenhagen also played host to the 50 Years Congratulations Show in 2005, which marked the 50th anniversary of the Eurovision Song Contest.