Eurovision 2011: 43 countries in the running

by Victor Hondal 163 views

Just like last year, the European Broadcasting Union announced the list of participating countries for Eurovision 2011 the last day of the year. 43 countries will be represented in Düsseldorf, and the broadcasters tipped to be returning are now confirmed. Slovakia, which announced their withdrawal, have finally decided to stick with Eurovision.

Four countries return after several years of absence. Austria took part for the last time in 2007, and returns to the competition in 2011. Hungary returned in 2005 after a six-year absence, took part in 2007, 2008 and 2009, and was not participating in 2010 in Oslo.Italytook part for the last time in 1997 and returns after 13 years of absence. The large country directly qualifies for participation in the Final and thus becomes part of the 'Big Five', along with France, Germany, Spain and the United Kingdom. San Marino, the little mountain state surrounded by Italian ground also returns to the Eurovision Song Contest, after its debute in 2008.

The 43 represented countries and their respective broadcasters are:

  1. Albania (RTVSH)
  2. Armenia (AMPTV)
  3. Austria (ORF)
  4. Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV)
  5. Belarus (BTRC)
  6. Belgium (RTBF)
  7. Bosnia & Herzegovina (BHRT)
  8. Bulgaria (BNT)
  9. Croatia (HRT)
  10. Cyprus (CyBC)
  11. Denmark (DR)
  12. Estonia (ERR)
  13. Finland (YLE)
  14. France (France TV)
  15. FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  16. Georgia (GEGT)
  17. Germany (NDR/ARD) (Host Broadcaster)
  18. Greece (ERT)
  19. Hungary (MTV)
  20. Iceland (RÚV)
  21. Ireland (RTÉ)
  22. Israel (IBA)
  23. Italy (RAI)
  24. Latvia (LTV)
  25. Lithuania (LRT)
  26. Malta (PBS)
  27. Moldova (TRM)
  28. The Netherlands (TROS)
  29. Norway (NRK)
  30. Poland (TVP)
  31. Portugal (RTP)
  32. Romania (TVR)
  33. Russia (C1R)
  34. San Marino (SMRTV)
  35. Serbia (RTS)
  36. Slovakia (STV)
  37. Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  38. Spain (RTVE)
  39. Sweden (SVT)
  40. Switzerland (SRG/SSR)
  41. Turkey (TRT)
  42. Ukraine (NTU)
  43. United Kingdom (BBC)

The last time so many countries applied for Eurovision Song Contest participation was in 2008, when an equal amount of contestants took part.

The Semi-Final Allocation Draw, which determines in which Semi-Final each country will participate, will be held on the 17th of January in Düsseldorf, during the Host City Insignia Exchange. 19 countries will be represented in each Semi-Final, whereas only 10 will qualify for the Final. The draw that determines the running order in each Semi-Final will be determined during the traditional Heads of Delegation meeting in the host city, which shall take place on the 14th of March.

The 2011 Eurovision Song Contest will take place on the 10th, 12th and 14th May at theDüsseldorf Arena. For the Final, some 35,000 tickets have been sold. The three shows will behostedby Anke Engelke, Stefan Raab and Judith Rakers.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!