TOP TEN: No. 8, 7 and 6

by Marcus Klier 90 views

The 15th TOP TEN list continues today with the places 8, 7 and 6 being announced. As revealed on Saturday, this week's topic are the TOP TEN least successful returning winners.

The list features lead singers, composers and lyricists who returned to the Eurovision Song Contest after having already won it. The ranking is based on the placing compared to the number of participants. The following rules were taken into account for the list:

  1. If someone returned more than once, only the participation right after the winning one is considered.
  2. In the case of a tie, the number of points achieved is being considered.
  3. Only returns in the same "category" are regarded, i.e. a singer had to return as a singer and a songwriter had to return as a songwriter to qualify for the ranking. Still, no difference between composer and lyricist is being made.
  4. If a winning singer returned as a backing vocalist, this participation is not eligible for the list.

So we continue…

Short announcement: Due to a mistake, this week's list has become a top eleven list. Yesterday's persons are therefore not no. 10, 9 and 8 but 11, 10 and 9. Today, we continue with 8, 7 and 6 and the list will go on regularly from tomorrow.

No. 8 – Hanne Krogh

Hanne Krogh had already represented Norway in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1971 finishing 17th when she teamed up with Elisabth Andreassen to form Bobbysocks. They norrowly won the national final with La det swinge and went to Gothenburgh, where they were the winners again. In 1987, Hanne Krogh competed as a lyricist reaching ninth place but it took another few years until she competed as a singer again. With the group Just 4Fun, which was formed especially formed for the contest, she went to Rome in 1991 performing the song Mrs. Thompson. Despite high expectations it was a flop only coming in 17th place among 22.

No. 7 – Vline Buggy

Sisters Liliane and Evelyn Koger wrote the lyrics to the 1973 winning song using their pseudonym Vline Buggy. Tu te reconnaîtras was performed by Anne-Marie David and scored a total of 129 points in the final for Luxembourg. In 1976, they wrote the lyrics to the Luxembourgeois entry again. Performed by Jürgen Marcus, Des chansons pour ceux qui s'aiment only got 17 points and finished 14th among the 18 songs competing. Jack White, the composer of the song, had also written the lyrics of the German version of the 1971 winning song Un banc, un arbre, une rue.

No. 6 – Lys Assia, Géo Voumard and Émile Gardaz

It is a common advice never to change a winning team. In 1957, Switzerland was represented by Lys Assia with a song composed by Géo Voumard and written by Émile Gardaz, who had been responsible for the first winning song ever in 1956: Refrain. Despite being in the same style and even featuring lyrics similar to Refrain, their new effort L'enfant que j'étais was no success and only reached equal eighth place among the ten songs competing. Lys Assia would return again in 1958 this time finishing second. Géo Voumard and Émile Gardaz went on to write the Swiss entries in 1961 (third place), 1962 (tenth place) and 1963 (second place).

Tomorrow, we will continue with no. 5 and 4 on the list.