Germany wins Eurovision Song Contest 2010!

by Marcus Klier 95 views

Tonight, the 54th edition of the Eurovision Song Contest was held. 25 countries competed and in the end the televoters and the juries decided that Lena from Germany is the winner with the song Satellite written by Julie Frost and John Gordon. Germany has won the contest for the second time following a victory in 1982.

Germany won the Eurovision Song Contest 2010 with 246 points ahead of Turkey and Romania.

The performer

Lena Meyer-Landrut had already appeared as an actress in various minor TV prodcutions when she entered Unser Star für Oslo, the talent search to determine the German representative in the Eurovision Song Contest 2010. Already after her first performance, she received much media attention and she was widely considered to be the top favourite throughout the whole show. Although she performed mainly unknown songs, most of their original versions managed to enter the German single charts based on downloads only after the performances, most notably My same by Adele (no. 61) and Mr. Cruiosity by Jason Mraz (no. 44). Lena won the national final after Satellite had been chosen the song to be performed by her out of the three she presented in case she wins.

Right after the national final, her three national final entries Satellite, Bee and Love me reached the top three in the biggest download portals in Germany. The song was highly popular and sold more downloads than any other song ever in Germany with in week and was eligible to be certified gold after the first week. Therefore, it also reached the top of the German single charts where it stayed for five consecutive weeks. The other entries Bee and Love me peaked at number three and four respectively making Lena Meyer-Landrut the first artist ever to have three songs in the top five at the same time. Furthermore, Satellite peaked at number two both in Switzerland and Austria.

On 7th May, the debut album My cassette player was released under her first name Lena only. Besides the three national final entries, it also features cover versions of My same and Mr. Curiosity. The album also reached the top of the German charts.

The songwriters

The German entry was written by Julie Frost and John Gordon. Julie Frost is a US singer-songwriter from Chicago. Her first album The wave was released in 2002. John Gordon is a Danish songwriter and record producer who has worked with acts like Michael Learns to Rock, Michelle Hunziker and German Pop Idol runner-ups Fady Maalouf and Mike Leon Grosch. Some sources credit the lyrics of the song to Julie Frost alone but the official statement says that both worked on the music and the lyrics.

Herzlichen Glückwunsch an Deutschland und Lena!

The complete results:

  1. Germany – 246
  2. Turkey – 170
  3. Romania – 162
  4. Denmark – 149
  5. Azerbaijan – 145
  6. Belgium – 143
  7. Armenia – 141
  8. Greece – 140
  9. Georgia – 136
  10. Ukraine – 108
  11. Russia – 98
  12. France – 98
  13. Serbia – 82
  14. Israel – 71
  15. Spain – 68
  16. Albania – 62
  17. Bosnia & Herzegovina – 51
  18. Portugal – 43
  19. Iceland – 41
  20. Norway – 35
  21. Cyprus – 27
  22. Moldova – 27
  23. Ireland – 25
  24. Belarus – 18
  25. United Kingdom – 10

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!