The Netherlands: Waylon reveals Eurovision 2018 song release on 10 March

by Jessica Weaver 1,037 views

One of the earliest artist announcements but potentially one of the latest song revelations: the Netherlands’ Eurovision 2018 representative, Waylon, is set to unveil his official song entry on the 10 March.

The Netherlands was the fourth country to reveal their Eurovision representative for the 2018 edition of the competition back in November, confirming the return of their 2014 act, Waylon, previously competing as part of the group The Common Linnets.

Waylon finished second at Eurovision 2014 with Calm after the storm

Speaking about his second Eurovision participation only a matter of days after the announcement from the Dutch broadcaster, all has remained very quiet from both Waylon himself and AVROTROS, the country’s national broadcaster.

Song announcement on 10 March

Earlier today, the Netherlands’ largest morning newspaper – De Telegraaf – released an interview with the Dutch artist himself, unveiling further details about his upcoming Eurovision entry.

Later in 2018, Waylon will release his fifth studio album, entitled The world can wait. The album will return to Waylon’s musical roots, relating back to Nashville-country times. The singer revealed more about his upcoming album:

There is no escape for me: when I pick up my guitar, the first tones are always country once again. That has had a huge impact on my musical development.

With that being said, Waylon went on to confirm that his Eurovision 2018 entry would be released ahead of the album, the single of which is expected to feature on the singer’s newest album.

Waylon and the Netherlands entry for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest will be presented on the 10 March, according to the returning artist’s interview with De Telegraaf.

AVROTROS, who has yet to confirm the official date, is expected to reveal more about the song release over the coming weeks.

Tour kick-off in April

Ahead of his Eurovision participation, Waylon will start his The World Can Wait tour, which will see the singer travel around the Netherlands from the 12 April right through to the 30 September.

Waylon will travel from the city of Venlo and will stop off in a number of Dutch cities throughout his tour, some of the confirmed venues being in Arnhem, Eindhoven, Amsterdam and The Hague.

Tickets for Waylon’s upcoming tour will go on sale tomorrow morning from 09:00 CET.

The Netherlands will compete in one of the 2 semi-finals on either the 8 or 10 May, hoping to qualify to the grand final of the Eurovision Song Contest on the 10 May in the host city of Lisbon.