Introducing 2010: Lithuania

by Marcus Klier 138 views

All songs for the Eurovision Song Contest 2010 have been selected. During the weeks between the national final season and the actual Eurovision Song Contest, we will introduce all 39 entries in random order. Part sixteen of the series is dedicated to the Lithuanian entry.

Basic information

Performers: InCulto
Song: East European Funk
Language: English
Music: InCulto
Lyrics: InCulto
Draw: 1st in the second semi final

The song

East European Funk is an up-tempo blending various different music styles, both traditional ones and modern ones. The lyrics have officially been declared an "infectious, somewhat humorous commentary on the differences of Eastern and Western Europe". They can actually be considered a protest against the West overlooking and underestimating Lithuania and Eastern Europe in general:

We'll settle the score
Survived the reds and 2 world wars

Get up and dance to our Eastern European kinda funk!

Yes Sir we are legal we are
Though we are not as legal as you
No Sir we're not equal no
Though we are both from the EU

The performers and songwriters

InCulto was founded in 2003. The band has since consisted of Jurgis Didžiulis (lead vocals and guitar), Aurelijus Morlencas (bass guitar), Sergej Makidon (percussions), Jievaras Jasinskis (trombone) and Laurynas Lap� (trumpet). Jurgis Didžiulis was the one who came up with the original idea of creating the band. He is also known as an MTV host and he is married to Erica Jennings, lead singer of Skamp, who represented Lithunia in the Eurovision Song Contest. In 2004, InCulto's debut album PostSovPo was released and it won them two Broavo music awards, one for Best new act in 2004 and one for Best band the year after. In 2005, they were also presented the award for Best alternative act at the Radiocentras Music Awards.

In 2006, InCulto competed in the Lithuanian national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest with the song Welcome to Lithuania. They won the second semi final and finished second in the final behind LT United. The same year, the band was nominted for an MTV European Music Award in the category Best Baltic act. Their second album Marijos žem�s superhitai was released in 2007. The band is a very popular live act in their home country, but they have also performed on international stages. Meanwhile, Jurgis Didžiulis has also been working on his solo project TWNKL as well as playing the main character in the Andrew Lloyd Webber musical Jesus Christ Superstar.

In 2010, InCulto entered the Lithuanian national selection for the second time. They won both the third semi final and the grand final and they will therefore represent the country in Oslo with their song East European Funk.

The national selection

The Lithuanian broadcaster formally withdrew from the Eurovision Song Contest 2010 due to financial difficulties but announced their participation when sufficient funding was confirmed. The national final was held over four shows. A total of 25 song was presented in three semi finals and the top three of each heat qualified for the final. Those nine acts were joined by three jury wildcards. In the final, the winner was chosen by televoting and a jury, who both agreed in sending InCulto to Oslo.

Lithuania in the Eurovision Song Contest

Lithuania took part in the Eurovision Song Contest for the first time in 1994 and finished last with nil points on their debut. It would take until 1999 that the country returned to the competition and again with no great success. The only top ten placing to date came in 2006 when LT United finished sixth in the final.

Mes linkime Lietuvai ir InCulto sekm�s ir gero rezultato Osle!


Live performance in the national final:

The preview video:

InCulto in the 2006 national final:

Reikia bandyt, a song performed by InCulto feat. Erica Jennings of Skamp:

Tomorrow, we will take a look at the Belgian entry.

Previous parts of this series:

  1. Ireland
  2. Belarus
  3. Albania
  4. Denmark
  5. Russia
  6. Bulgaria
  7. Switzerland
  8. FYR Macedonia
  9. Armenia
  10. Spain
  11. Poland
  12. Croatia
  13. Finland
  14. Greece
  15. Ukraine