Introducing 2010: Denmark

by Marcus Klier 142 views

All songs for the Eurovision Song Contest 2010 have been selected. During the weeks between the national final season and the actual Eurovision Song Contest, we will introduce all 39 entries in random order. Part four of the series is dedicated to the Danish entry.

Basic information

Performers: Chanée & N'evergreen
Song: In a moment like this
Language: English
Music: Thomas G:son, Henrik Sethsson
Lyrics: Thomas G:son, Henrik Sethsson, Erik Bernholm
Draw: 4th in the second semi final

The song

In a moment like this is a mid-tempo pop song. Through the lyrics of the break-up song, the two singers ask themselves what their former partner is doing at this very moment and what he/she has to do so they get back together:

Didn't need the time for sorrow
Didn't need the time for pain
What am I supposed to do
When living without you
Is the worst I ever knew

In a moment like this
Wanna know, wanna know, wanna know what you're looking for
Wanna know, wanna know, wanna know how to get to you

The performers

Christina Chanée, whose full name is Christina Ratchanée Birch Wongskul, has Thai roots. She was discovered in 2003, when she recorded songs for the soundtrack albums of the Charlotte Sachs Bostrup films Anja efter Viktor and Askepop. The year after, she joined the band of the Danish TV show Endelig fredag, called Nubian Fräuleins. During that time, she met Kid Creole, who offered her to play one of the main parts in the musical Marvin Gaye. After she had went on tour with a band called The Coconuts, she played minor parts in various Danish TV series. Since last year, she has been a member of the Jan Glæsel orchestra.

Tomas N'evergreen, whose real name is Tomas Christiansen, was bon in Århus but he currently lives in Moscow. Having performed with various different bands since he was in school, he released his first solo album in 2007. Since you've been gone spawned various hit singles including the eponymous title track, which sold more than 250,000 copies. In Denmark, he appeared on the soundtrack album of the film Humørkort-stativ-sælgerens søn. In 2009, he competed in the Russian national final for the Eurovision Song Contest with his song One more try. He finished equal eleventh in the televoting getting about 2% of the votes.

Christina Chanée and Tomas N'evergreen joined forces especially for Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2010. They could win the national selection and will therefore represent Denmark in Oslo. Their song In a moment like this was also a commercial success as it entered the Danish single charts, where it peaked at number two and stayed in the top ten for two weeks.

The songwriters

The Danish entry was written by Thomas G:son, Henrik Sethsson and Erik Bernholm. Thomas G:son, who is from Sweden, has already some Eurovision Song Contest experienced as he has written or co-written four entries for three different countries so far. In 2001, The Swedish entry Listen to your heartbeat finished fifth and so did his 2006 Swedish entry Invincible. He wrote both the Norwegian and the Spanish entries in 2007, which finished 18th in the semi final and 20th in the final respectively. No less than 25 of his songs competed in Swedish Melodifestivalen to date, but his compositions also took part in the national finals of Latvia, Romania, Poland, Belgium, Finland and Norway. Henrik Sethsson co-wrote the 2001 Swedish entry with G:Son and he has also taken part in Melodifestivalen various times. Among his songs are Vindarna vändar oss for Fame in 2004 and Innan natten är over for Kayo in 2006. Erik Bernholm completes the Swedish trio. It is the first time that he competes in the Eurovision Song Contest as a songwriter, but he is the producer behind the 1998 Swedish entry Kärleken är and the 2002 Estonian entry Runaway. He has also produced many other songs for 1998 Swedish representative Jill Johnson.

The national selection

Once again, the Danish national final was held under the title Dansk Melodi Grand Prix. Ten cts competed and the winners were chosen in three rounds of voting. In the first round, the ten acts were narrowed down to four. Those four acts competed in two duels with the remaining acts forming the final duel. Eventually, Chanée & N'evergreen could win ahead of Bryan Rice.

Denmark in the Eurovision Song Contest

Denmark entered the Eurovision Song Contest in 1957, which was the second edition of the show. After a successful debut (third place) and the first Scandinavian victory in 1963, the country took a break from the contest in 1967 and would not return before 1978. In the 1980s, Denmark produced a rather high number of successful songs but it would take until 2000 that the Olsen Brothers brought the contest to Denmark again. The last top ten finish in a final to date came in 2005.

Vi ønsker Danmark og Chanée & N'evergreen held og lykke og et godt resultat i Oslo!


Live performance in the national final:

The preview video:

Tomas N'evergreen in the Russian national final 2009:

Tomas N'evergreen – Since you've been gone:

Tomorrow, we will take a look at the Russian entry.

Previous parts of this series:

  1. Ireland
  2. Belarus
  3. Albania

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!