Ukraine: National selection details and dates released

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 915 views

Private Ukrainian television channel STB will once again hold the Ukrainian Eurovision national selection in collaboration with national broadcaster UA:PBC. The broadcaster has released the details and dates for the forthcoming 2018 Ukrainian Eurovision national selection.

Last August, the 2017 Eurovision host broadcaster UA:PBC confirmed to ESCToday Ukraine’s participation at the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon. The country will yet again select its Eurovision entry and act via a national selection, the same mechanism it has used in the last 2 years.

The 2018 Ukrainian Eurovision national selection will consist of a total of 3 shows (2 semi-finals and grand final). All 3 shows will be aired simultaneously on STB and UA:PBC’s Channel 1.

  • 10/02: Semi-final 1
  • 17/02: Semi-final 2
  • 24/02: Grand Final

STB has released the details for the national selection. The submission period for artists to submit their entries in their quest to represent Ukraine at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest is open as of today 10 October until 15 January 2018. Artists can submit their entries and register here. You can find the rules and details for the 2018 Ukrainian national selection here.

The names of the jury members are yet to be revealed. Ruslan Kvinta has been appointed as the music producer of the Ukrainian national selection.

The national selection will consist of 2 stages:

  • 1st Stage – Will consist of auditions in various Ukrainian cities
  • 2nd Stage – Will consist of 3 televised shows with circa 14-20 acts battling in the semifinals.

The 2018 Ukrainian Eurovision entry and act will be determined by a mixed jury/public televoting deliberation.

Ukraine in Eurovision

Ukraine debuted in Eurovision in 2003 and has won the competition twice (2004-Ruslana and 2016-Jamala). The country is amongst the most successful countries in the contest and has never missed a Eurovision Grand Final since its debut, with the exception of 2015 when the country Ukraine withdrew from the contest. The country has achieved a total of 9 Top 10 placings in its 14 year history in the event.

In 2017, O.Torvald represented Ukraine on home soil with their entry Time, achieving a 24th place in the Grand Final.

The 2018 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 8, 10 and 12 May at the MEO Arena in Lisbon, Portugal.