Norway sends Didrik Solli-Tangen to Eurovision

by Marcus Klier 220 views

The Norwegian national final for the Eurovision Song Contest 2010 was held tonight. Eight acts competed in the final of MGP 2010 and eventually it was decided that Didrik Solli-Tangen will represent Norway on homeground with the song My heart is yours written by Hanne Sørvaag and Fredrik Kempe.

Complete results

The winning song was cosen in two rounds of voting. In the first round, televoting alone selected the top four:

  • Bjørn Johan MuriYes man
    (Simone Larsen, Simen Eriksrud, Bjørn Johan Muri)
  • Didrik Solli-TangenMy heart is yours
    (Hanne Sørvaag, Fredrik Kempe)
  • Keep of KalessinThe dragontower
    (Arnt Grønbech/Arnt Grønbech, Torbjørn Schei, Vegar Larsen, Robin Isaksen)
  • A1 Don't wanna lose you again
    (Ben Adams, Mark Read, Christian Ingebrigtsen)

The eventual winner was then decided by a mixture of televoting and jury voting. Firstly, four regional juries gave 2000, 4000, 6000 and 8000 votes to their respective top four. Afterwards, the absolute number of telvotes was added, split into five regions. Didrik Solli-Tangen was the winner. The complete results were as follows:

Song Jury 1
Jury 2
Jury 3
Jury 4
Tele 1
Tele 2
Tele 3
Tele 4
Tele 5
Yes man 6000 4000 4000 2000 3139 10871 32488 30840 75836 169,174
My heart is… 4000 8000 8000 6000 10027 31567 67056 113998 218027 466,675
The dragon… 8000 6000 2000 8000 4855 14492 41257 46457 109103 241,164
Don't wanna… 2000 2000 6000 4000 6949 20576 45937 57059 134361 278,882

Jury 1 = Ørland jury, Jury 2 = Bodø jury, Jury 3 = Skien jury, Jury 4 = Sarpsborg jury
Tele 1 = Northern Norway, Tele 2 = Western Norway, Tele 3 = Central Norway, Tele 4 = Southern Norway, Tele 5 = Eastern Norway

The winner

Didrik Solli-Tangen is from Porsgrunn in the county of Telemark. Currently he is studying classical music at the Barratt Due Institute of Music in Oslo. According to himself, his music experience so far is limited to some local concerts in his home area, and some competitions. Songwriters Hanne Sørvaag and Fredrik Kempe have both competed in the Eurovision Song Contest before. Hanne Sørvaag co-wrote the German entry in 2008, Disappear. Performed by No Angels, it finished equal 23rd and hence last in the final. Fredrik Kempe co-wrote the Swedish entries in 2008 and 2009. Charlotte Perrelli finished 18th in 2008 with Hero while Malena Ernman came 21st last year with La voix. poll results

The poll voters agreed with the results in the national final. Didrik Solli-Tangen had won the poll with 26.8% ahead of A1, who received 20.0% of the votes. national final awards 2010

The 2010 National Final Awards will be held between April and May, which means between the national final season and the Eurovision Song Contest. We will repeat the same format with two rounds for nominations which was used this year – you can read how it works here. However, this time the individual polls for each country will always be held right after the national final, when the entries are still fresh. You can vote for your favourite performance not to qualify in the Norwegian national final here and for your favourite song not to qualify here.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!