RTVE disqualifies four more acts

by Victor Hondal 57 views

The Spanish broadcaster RTVE has informed moments ago that another set of four hopefuls in the race to represent Spain in Eurovision have been disqualified. El Pezón Rojo, who was leading the online voting, Kito & Rafa, Rose Avalon and Sonia Monroy are no longer in the competition.

On January 21st, another 4 acts were eliminated in Spain because they were found to have broken the preselection rules. Among them was Karmele Marchante aka Popstar Queen, who was the overall leader by then.

The same happens now: El Pezón Rojo, a group promoted by the radiostation Los 40 Principales, was leading the voting until one hour ago, and has been disqualified because their song was presented in a podcast back in 2008.

Therefore, the current standings show that John Cobra is in the lead with 263,000 votes, closely followed by Coral, and Lorena in 3rd place.

This Friday, February 5th, at 12:00 CET, the online voting will close. To date, more than 5 million votes have been cast on the RTVE website.

These are the four acts disqualified today by RTVE:

El Pezón Rojo – Y yo tan sexy

Kito & Rafa – En mi silencio

Rose Avalon – Burn


Sonia Monroy – Muévete