Bosnia & Herzegovina: BHRT confirms non participation in Eurovision 2018

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 954 views

BHRT, the Bosnian national broadcaster has confirmed to ESCToday that Bosnia & Herzegovina will not participate in the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest. Thus we will not see the country  return to the contest next year either.

Hence Bosnia & Herzegovina joins Andorra, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Turkey and Monaco all whom have confirmed that they will not return to the contest next year.

Financial turmoil

ESCToday has learned that BHRT did not apply to participate at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest due to its current financial situation. The broadcaster is facing massive problems sustaining itself and is struggling to collect fees in order to function. The Bosnian broadcaster hopes to resolve this situation by next year and return to the contest if things improve.

The broadcaster is currently under EBU sanction which includes Eurovision participation.


BHRT withdrew from the competition in 2013 and was absent for 3 consecutive years. The Bosnians returned to the contest in 2016 but were forced to abstain from the event again in 2017. Bosnia & Herzegovina has faced a rocky road in its quest to compete in Europe’s favorite event due to the hardships and financial problems it has been afflicted with it.

Bosnia & Herzegovina in Eurovision

Bosnia Herzegovina joined the Eurovision family in 1993 with Fazla and is yet to win the competition. The Balkan country achieved its best result in the competition in 2006 with Hari Mata Hari.

The Bosnians returned to the contest in 2016 after a 3 year absence from the contest with Dalal & Deen  feat. Ana Rucner and Jala. Despite a fabulous performance they didn’t qualify to the Grand Final. In 2017 the country opted to stay out of the competition due to the financial turmoil afflicting the broadcaster.

Eurovision 2018

The 2018 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 8, 10 and 12 May in Lisbon, Portugal.

The deadline for broadcasters to officially apply for Eurovision 2018 concluded on 15 September. Hereafter, countries have a grace period to confirm their participation or withdraw their application without a penalty until 10 October.

The final list of the 2018 Eurovision participating countries is expected to be released by the EBU later during the year.