Sven Lõhmus wins Composer of the year award

by Marcus Klier 192 views

The votes for the fourth annual awards have been cast over the last three and a half weeks and now it is time to reveal the results. We continue with the Composer of the year award.

The 2009 Award for Composer of the year goes to…

  • Sven Lõhmus of Estonia

Sven Lõhmus wrote the Estonian entry in the Eurovision Song Contest 2009. Performed by Urban Symphony, Rändajad finished third in the second semi final and sixth in the final.

  • You can find the list of all award results revealed so far this year here.

The winner

This is the fifth award for Estonia both this year and overall. Previous awards have been won for Best duo/group performance, Most creative effort, Best arrangement and production and Best dressed act. The award for Composer of the year has previously gone to Zeljko Joksimovic (Bosnia & Herzegovina) in 2006, Magdi Rúzsa (Hungary) in 2007 and Andrej Babic (Portugal) in 2008.

Sven Lõhmus has worked with many Baltic music acts including Vanilla Ninja, who later represented Switzerland in the Eurovision Song Contest 2005. He also wrote the song that represented Estonia in the 2005 Eurovision Song Contest; Let's get loud finished 20th in the semi final. He has his own record label in Estonia and hit songs he wrote and produced include Club Kung Fu by Vanilla Ninja and Moonwalk by Laura, runner-up entry in the 2005 Estonian national final.

The complete results

Sven Lõhmus won in this category very narrowly ahead of the famous songwriting team from the United Kingdom. 2009 Eurovision Song Contest winner Alexander Rybak follows in third place.

  1. Sven Lõhmus (Estonia) – 23.5%
  2. Diane Warren and Andrew Lloyd Webber (United Kingdom) – 23.1%
  3. Alexander Rybak (Norway) – 19.8%
  4. Óskar Páll Sveinsson, Tinatin Japaridze and Chris Neil (Iceland) – 17.0%
  5. Aleksandar Covic (Bosnia & Herzegovina) – 16.7%

Studio version of the winning song

Interview with Sven Lõhmus after the Eurovision Song Contest 2009 (, in Estonian)

The next award to be revealed today will be for Lyricist of the year/English lyrics.