First Melodifestivalen wildcard announced on Tuesday

by Marcus Klier 46 views

Swedish broadcaster SVT will announce the first wild card for Melodifestivalen 2010 on Tuesday according to a press release. This is the first time SVT presents any wild card before the artists of the acts selected by jury are confirmed.

Since 2004 a jury have selected 28 acts out of the thousands of songs submitted for the competition. After that SVT have chosen four wild cards to complement, not necessarily from the originally submitted.

In the past the wild cards have performed very well with three wins in the past six years: 2004 (Lena Philipsson – Det gör ont), 2007 (The Ark – The worrying kind) and 2009 (Malena Ernman – La voix). 15 of the total of 24 previous wild cards have reached the final. Among the wild cards who did not make it through are Andreas Johnson & Carola Häggkvist, Eskobar, Niklas Strömstedt and former A-teens member Marie Serneholt. There have been speculations in the press that SVT might choose only female wild cards this year because of the expected domination of male artists, but they have not been specific on likely artists.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!