United Kingdom: Eurovision: You Decide panellists revealed

by Jessica Weaver 257 views

BBC, the British national broadcaster, has released the names of the 3 panellists who will feature in the United Kingdom’s national final for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest, Eurovision: You Decide.

As with the 2016 British national final, a 3 member panel will once again feature in Eurovision: You Decide, each of whom will offer their critique and advice following each of the performances on the night.

3 member jury panel revealed

The 3 member panel offer vast and extended experience over different sectors of the industry; from singing to performing, the jury panel is as follows:

  • Sophie Ellis-Bextor: British singer-songwriter known for her pop-disco style, having had success in the early 2000s with her hits including her best-selling singles Take me home and Murder on the dancefloor.
  • Bruno Tonioli: Italian dancer and choreographer known for his work over the years alongside artists including Elton John, Tina Turner, The Rolling Stones, Freddie Mercury and Duran Duran. Tonioli is also a judge of the UK’s Strictly Come Dancing and the US’ Dancing with the Stars.
  • CeCe Sammy: British vocal coach who has worked with artists on numerous talent shows over the years including The Voice UK, Pop Idol, American Idol and America’s Got Talent. Sammy was also the chairperson of the British jury at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest.


As well as having their say on each of the performances on the night, a 50% jury vote will also be included in the final results, alongside a 50% televote, in order to help determine the UK representative at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

Artist announcement on Monday

Both the public and the jury will have a total of 6 acts to decide from on the 27 January, with all of the competing artists and song entries set to be released during The Ken Bruce Show on BBC Radio 2 on the 23 January, live from 10:30 CET (9:30 local time).

Eurovision: You Decide will take place at 20:30 CET (19:30 local time) live from the Eventim Apollo in Hammersmith on the 27 January, hosted once again by BBC Eurovision semi-final commentator Mel Giedroyc on BBC Two.