Georgia: National Final scheduled for mid January: 25 acts in the running

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 994 views

GPB, the Georgian national broadcaster has confirmed to ESCToday that the 2017 Georgian national final is scheduled to be held in Tblisi  by mid January. The exact date and venue will be revealed in due course.  A total of 25 acts will battle for the golden ticket to Kyiv.

25 acts will compete in the 2017 Georgian Eurovision national final, the winner will fly to Kyiv in order to represent Georgia at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

GPB received a total of 28 entries for their Eurovision national final, out of which 3 acts opted out of the competition (Natia Bidzinashvili, Ancho Dolidze and Ani Kekua)

The 2017 Georgian Eurovision act and entry via a professional jury (60%)/ televoting (40%) deliberation. The 25 entries have been released. You can listen to them in the link below.

1. Nanuka Giorgobiani, with the song – Let The Sunshine In
2. Giorgi Chikovani, with the song – Make it Right
3. Davit Shanidze, with the song – “Mtvris Katsi”(Man of Dust)
4. Trio Mandili, with the song – “Me da Shen” (You and Me)
5. Elene Mikiashvili, with the song – Fighter
6. Andria Gvelesiani, with the song – Revolutionise
7. Group The Mins, with the song – Crime
8. Alisa Danelia, with the song – We Are Eternity
9. Rati Durglishvili, with the song – Why
10. Brandon Stone & Eteri Beriashvili, with the song – Heyo Song
11. Tornike Kipiani & Giorgi Bolotashvili, with the song – You Are My Sunshine
12. Group EOS, with the song – Urban Signs
13. Dima Kobeshavidze, with the song – Scream
14. Maliibu, with the song – We Live Once
15. Group Asea Sool, with the song – Nature
16. MISHO, with the song – Magic
17. Tako Gachechiladze, with the song – Keep the Faith
18. Oto Nemsadze & Group Limbo, with the song – Dear God
19. Mariam Chachkhiani, with the song – Fly
20. Nutsa Buzaladze, with the song – White Horses Run
21. Group Sparkle, with the song – On The Top
22. Nino Basharuli, with the song – Lileo
23. Temo Sajaia, with the song – All The Same
24. Mariko Lejava, with the song – Light it Up
25. Sabina Chantouria, with the song – Stranger

In 2016 Geoorgia opted for an internal selection in order to select its Eurovision act. Nika Kocharov and the Young Georgian Lolitaz flew the Georgian flag in Stockholm with their entry Midnight gold.

Georgia debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2007 and is yet to win the event. The country achieved its best results in the competition in 2010 and 2011 when it placed 9th in the Grand Final.

The 2017 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held in Kyiv on 9, 11 and 13 May at the IEC in Kyiv.