awards: The performance of the year is…

by Marcus Klier 53 views

The polls for the third annual awards closed at midnight CET and now it is time to reveal the results, which are traditionally made public on Christmas Eve, 24th December. We continue with the second category: Performance of the year.

The 2008 award for Performance of the year goes to…

  • ANI LORAK of Ukraine for Shady lady

Ani Lorak convinced the voters with her complex choreography, mirrors and light effects. The singer was chosen internally by the Ukrainian broadcaster to represent the country in Belgrade and the song Shady lady was chosen in a national final. The entry won the second Eurovision Song Contest semi final getting 152 points. In the final, Ani finished in second place behind Russia with 230 points. It is already the third time thatUkraine wins this award: in 2006, Tina Karol took home the trophy while Verka Serduchka did so last year.

The complete results:

  1. Ani Lorak of Ukraine for Shady lady
  2. Vânia Fernandes of Portugal for Senhora do mar
  3. Euroband of Iceland for This is my life
  4. Maria Haukaas Storeng of Norway for Hold on be strong
  5. Kalomira or Greece for Secret combination

Ani Lorak won the award by a landslide getting 41.4% of the votes. Vânia Fernandes from Portugal, whose entry won the Song of the year category, comes in second with 19.4%. Euroband from Iceland finished third with 14.3%. Norway's Maria Haukaas Storeng is very close behind with 13.7% ahead of Kalomira from Greece, who got 11.2%.

More results will be revealed throughout the day. Stay tuned!

Watch the Performance of the year below:

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!