Sweden: Lena Ph & Orup release duet album

by Leif Raberg 185 views

Lena Philipsson, Sweden's representative in the Eurovision Song Contest 2004, released a new album today. It is a collaboration with songwriter and artist Orup. The CD is called Dubbel (Double).

Lena Philipsson and Orup started working together back in 2004, when Orup wrote her song Det gör ont,which won Melodifestivalen. The English version of the song, It hurts,finished equal 5th in Istanbul. Since then they created two albums for Lena: Det gör ont en stund på natten men inget på dan and Jag ångrar ingenting. They had a stage show in Stockholm and Gothenburg forone and a halfyears. Four years later, they now release their first duet album.

The album includes eight duets and one solo song for both Lena and Orup. Orup has written five songs himself and the other five together with Lena. The album includes the Swedish number one single Nu när du gått. The inspiration for the album is theMotown sound,soul and country music: I listen of course to Johnny Cash and June Carter, but also Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell. Then I think that Sonny and Cher are underestimated, says Orup.

Right now the duo is on a successful tour across Sweden, but they will only sing Nu när du gått from the album: The new songs cannot compete with our old hits, says Lena. According news reports Lena Philipsson still says no to participate in Melodifestivalen 2009, while Orup says, someday he will be back in the festival, but doesn’t know when -and then as a solo artist.

Tracklist of Dubbel:

  1. Hals över huvud
  2. Nu när du gått
  3. Fotbollsstjärna
  4. Jag hatar att vakna utan dig
  5. 1 skäl (solo song of Lena Philipsson)
  6. Fem minuter i himmelen
  7. Bara en polis (solo song of Orup)
  8. Jag måste skynda mig på
  9. Så mycket bättre än dom andra
  10. Blott en skugga

Lena & Orup – Nu när du gått video:


ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!