Tonight: Eurovision Dance Contest 2008

by Marcus Klier 382 views

Tonight at 21:00 CET, the second edition of the Eurovision Dance Contest will take place in Glasgow. 14 couples, each consisting of a professional dancer and a national celebrity, will try to convince the jury and the televoters to bring home the trophy.

The show

Graham Norton and Claudia Winkleman will again present the show. Each couple will perform for two minutes before the professional jury will give its verdict. After all performances, the jury's top 10 countries will be given 48, 40, 32, 28, 24, 20, 16, 12, 8 and 4 points before the televoting starts. The countries will vote in typical Eurovision style giving 12, 10 and 8-1 points, which means that the jury has the weight of four countries voting.

Where to watch?

Apart from the participating countries, the contest will also be broadcast in the following countries: Albania, Armenia, Belarus, Cyprus, FYR Macedonia and Iceland. Of course, there will also be a webcast on here.

The line-up

These are the couples in running order along with the dance style(s) they have chosen and the song(s) they dance to.

  1. Sweden – Danny Saucedo & Jeanette Carlsson
    Hung up (Madonna)
  2. Austria – Dorian Steidl & Nicole Kuntner
    Slowfox & Jive
    Pink Panther theme/Der Kommissar (Falco)
  3. Denmark – Patrick Spiegelberg & Katja Svensson
    Samba, Tango, Paso Doble & contemporary Jazz Dance
    Twin Peaks theme/Igen og Igen (Nephew)
  4. Azerbaijan – Eldar Dzhafarov & Anna Sazhina
    Paso doble, Azeri folk dance, Rumba & Tango
    The phantom of the opera (Andrew Lloyd Webber)
  5. Ireland – Gavin O'Fearraigh & Dearbhla Lennon
    Paso doble, Rumba & Irish Dance
    The Mama song (Kila)
  6. Finland – Mikko Ahti & Maria Lund
    Traditional music
  7. Netherlands – Thomas Berge & Roemjana de Haan
    Rumba & Show Dance
    Angels (Robbie Williams/cover version)
  8. Lithuania – Saulius Skambinas & Karina Krysko
    Rumba & Cha-cha
    Teka teka skaisti saule (Traditional)
  9. United Kingdom – Vincent Simone & Louisa Lytton
    Paso doble, Tango & Jive
    Paint it black (Lee Mead)
  10. Russia – Alexander Litvinenko & Tatiana Navka
    Cha-cha, Samba, Rumba, Paso Doble & Russian national dance
    Koni priveredliviye (Vladimir Vysotsky)
  11. Greece – Jason Roditis & Tonia Kosovich
    Various Latin dances
    Misirlou (Dick Dale)/Pump it (The Black Eyed Peas)
  12. Portugal – João Tiago & Raquel Tavares
    Rumba & Tango
    Tirei a sorte (Fernando Martins)
  13. Poland – Marcin Mroczek & Edyta Herbus
    Rumba, Cha-cha & comtemporary Jazz Dance
    Michael Jackson medley
  14. Ukraine – Serhij Kostetskiy & Liliya Podkopaeva
    Jive, Rock'n'Roll & Ukrainian national dance
    Traditional music

Last year's Eurovision Dance Contest was won by Finland. Katja Koukkulaand Jussi Väänänen convinced the televoters with a Rumba to All in love is fair by Carmen McRae and a Paso doble to The unforgiven by Apocalyptica.