Russia: Sergey Lazarev will premiere his entry on 3 March

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 222 views

The 2016 Russian Eurovision representative Sergey Lazarev will premiere his Eurovision entry on Thursday 3 March.

Sergey Lazarev has been selected via an internal selection by Russian broadcaster RTR to fly the Russian flag at the upcoming Eurovision edition in Sweden.The Russian superstar  has confirmed  via his official Instagram account the premiere date of his Eurovision entry. We will get to hear the 2016 Russian Eurovision entry on 3 March.


Sergey’s Eurovision entry has been produced and composed by the Eurovision Dream Team,consisting of Russian superstar Philip Kirkorov, internationally acclaimed Greek composer Dimitris Kontopoulos and the multi talented Greek stage director and choreographer Fokas Evengelinos.

The same team was behind the 2014 Russian entry Shine performed by the Tolmachevy Twins in Copenhagen, the 2008 Ukranian entry Shady Lady performed by Ani Lorak in Belgrade.

Fokas Evangelinos

Fokas Evangelinos is an internationally acclaimed stage director and choreographer and has been behind the staging of many Eurovision performances in the past years: Sakis Rouvas (Greece 2004, 2009), Helena Paparizou ( Greece 2o05), Dima Bilan (Russia 2006, 2008), Farid Mammadov (Azerbaijan 2013), Ani Lorak (Ukraine 2008), Dimitry Koldun (Belarus 2007)

Dimitris Kontopoulos

Dimitris Kontopoulos is an established Greek composer and producer and is also well known in the Eurovision world. He has composed various  Eurovision entries; Sakis Rouvas (Greece 2009), Farid Mammadov ( Azerbaijan 2013), Tomalchevy Twins ( Russia 2014) and Ani Lorak (Ukraine 2008).

Dimitris was also behind Anna Vissi‘s entry Welcome to the party at the 2006 Greek Eurovision national final and Kostas Martakis‘ entry Always Forever at the 2008 Greek Eurovision national final. He also composed Giannis Verdis’ entry Mia Stigmi at the 2003 Greek Eurovision national final.

He has composed and produced songs for Ani Lorak, Helena Paparizou, Sakis Rouvas and Kostas Martakis in the recent years.

Philip Kirkorov

Philip Kirkorov represented Russia at the 1995 Eurovision Song Contest in Dublin and enjoys fame and name both in Russia and overseas. The Russian superstar has produced many Eurovision entries for various countries in the past years: Dima Bilan (Russia 2006), Dimitry Koldun ( Belarus 2007), Ani Lorak (Ukraine 2008) and Tomalchevy Twins (Russia 2014).

Sergey is among the most sought after Russian artists in his homeland. He has released many albums and has a great repertoire and career behind him.

In 2015 Russia went internal and selected Polina Gagarina to fly the Russian flag in Vienna. She made her country when she came 2nd in the Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest in Austria with her entry A million voices.

Russia debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994 and has won the event once in 2008 with Dima Bilan’s Believe.

The 2016 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 10, 12 and 14 May at the Ericsson Globe Arena in Stockholm, Sweden.

Stay tuned to ESCToday for the latest news on Russia and the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest.