German participants to be named this friday

by Oliver Rau 77 views

This friday, 28 January, NDR's head of entertainment Dr. Jürgen Meier-Beer will name 9 of the 12 participants of the national final Germany 12 Points!. Three wildcards will be given to chart acts right before the final on 12 March.

On NDR's Eurovision homepage, Meier-Beer promised an “interesting mix”. Apart from the nine participants to be named this friday, up to three last-minute wildcards will be given to artists which have to qualify by placing a hit single into the German charts. In 2004, Max Mutzke qualified only days before the national final by scoring a number one hit with his entry Can't wait until tonight. He then won the televoting with 92%.

TV show host and sports reporter Reinhold Beckmann will host Germany 12 Points!. Unlike last year, there will be no female co-host. The final will take place in the Treptow Arena in Berlin again, tickets for the final are on sale now. A CD compilation will be on sale as of 25 February.

Three artists already confirmed their participation in Germany 12 Points!: former soap star and singer-songwriter Mia Aegeter (born in Switzerland), Ellen ten Damme from the Netherlands and female singer Villaine from Cologne.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at!