Neiokõsõ to represent Estonia

by Jarmo Siim 218 views

The Estonian television viewers have chosen Tii by the group Neiokõsõ to represent Estonia on the Eurovision Song Contest (ESC) 2004 in Turkey.

Tii got 8696 televotes, followed by Beautiful inside (by Kerli) with 3638 votes and Surrounded (by Slobodan River) with 2080 votes. The rest of the songs were rated by the audience as follows:

4.) Homme by Maarja – 1320 votes
5.) I'll give you a mountain by Charizma – 1157 votes
6.) Whatever you say by Charlene – 785 votes
7.) Dance by Ewert Sundja – 640 votes
8.) Turn the tide by Zone & Cardinals – 581 votes
9.) I wanna stay by Airi Ojamets – 393 votes
10.) Whenever blue by Hatuna and Sofia Rubina – 188 votes

Tii is written by Priit Pajusaar, Glen Pilvre (music) and the lyrics are by Aapo Ilves.
Priit Pajusaar has also written the Estonian representative from 1996 (Kaelakee hääl) and together with Glen Pilvre also the Estonian participant at the ESC 1999 – Diamond of night.

The group Neiokõsõ consists of Anu Taul, Triinu Taul, Astrid Böning, Diana Põld, Kadri Uutma and Peeter Jõgioja (drums).

The song's lyrics are written in an Southern Estonian dialect – Võru dialect.

The backup jury also chose their favourite, being Homme by Maarja.
This was the first time the Estonians chose their representative to the ESC themselves, before an international jury did the job. Estonia will have to participate in the semifinal of the ESC this year which will take place on 12 May.

Check out a longer review at our specials section!

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!