28 songs forMelodifestivalen 2004 announced today

by Itamar Barak 160 views

The Swedish broadcaster SVT released this morning a list of 28 songs which will participate in the upcoming Melodifestivalen, the Swedish preselection for the Eurovision Song Contest. Four more songs, which were commissioned by the SVT, will be announced soon and added to the 28, making a total of 32 songs competing in four semi-final heats.

The entries' performers are yet to be announced, but among the writers are a few Melodifestivalen veterans, some of whom have even won it; Ingela 'Pling' Forsman, Bobby Ljunggren, Gustav Eurén, Thomas G:son and Lars Diedricson and Marcos Ubeda. Ubeda wrote the Swedish lyrics to Take me to your heaven, winner of the 1999 Eurovision Song Contest. The full list of songs can be found at SVT's website (follow the link at the left-hand side).

Melodifestivalen 2004 will be spread over four semi-final heats, during February and March with one more wild-card round. The final will be held, as in the past two years, at the Globen in Stockholm, on 20th March, where Sweden's entry for the Eurovision Song Contest 2004 in Istanbul will be chosen.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!