Denmark: DR confirms participation in Eurovision 2019

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 871 views

DR, the Danish national broadcaster, has confirmed to ESCToday that Denmark will compete at the forthcoming 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Israel.

Thus Denmark joins Lithuania, Serbia, Malta, Sweden, Switzerland, Norway, Latvia, Belgium, Germany, Cyprus and France in the list of countries who have confirmed their intention to compete at the upcoming Eurovision edition in Israel.

The Scandinavian nation will more than likely select its Eurovision entry and act for Israel via its traditional national selection Dansk Melodi Grand Prix. The Danish broadcaster will reveal its plan of action for Eurovision 2019 in due course.

Denmark in Eurovision

Denmark debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1957 and has won the competition thrice: 1963 (Grethe & Jorgen Ingmann),  2000 (Olsen Brothers) and 2013 (Emmelie de Forest).

The nordic country has hosted the competetition thrice in its iconic capital Copenhagen (1964, 2001 and 2014) and also played host to the 50th Eurovision anniversary special show in 2005.

In 2018 the Danes went Viking and selected Rasmussen to fly the Danish flag at the Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon with Higher ground, placing 9th in the Grand Final.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!