Eight more Melodifestivalen acts announced

by Benny Royston 91 views

Swedish broadcaster SVT today announced another eight acts that will compete for at Melodifestivalen 2011 and the chance to represent Sweden at the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest in Dusseldorf, Germany. In total there will be 32 acts competing in February and March, amongst the big names announced are 2008 televote winner, Sanna Nielsen and 2009 finalist, Danny from EMD.

Danny, the ‘D’ in boy band EMD which finished 3rd in 2009, will perform In the Club written by Figge Boström, Peter Boström and Danny Saucedo. Former Pop Idol singer Loreen will compete with My Heart is Refusing Me written by Moh Denebi, Björn Djupström and Loreen.

Sanna Nielsen, one of the most experienced Melodifestivalen competitors will return in 2011 for the fifth time, this time with I'm in Love composed by Bobby Ljunggren, Thomas G:son, Peter Boström, Irini Michas and Sanna herself.

Rasmus Viberg is a 20 year old all new to the Swedish audience, although he and his band Old School have toured in different African countries. The song Social Butterfly is written by Amir Aly and Henrik Wikström.

Pop group Melody Club have been regulars on the Swedish pop charts for almost 10 years and have been rumoured to participate in Melodifestivalen several times before. Their song The Hunter is written by Kristofer Östergren, Erik Stenemo, Jon Axelsson and Niklas Stenemo. Because of a dispute whether or not to participate in Melodifestivalen the drummer Andy A in Swedish paper Aftonbladet today revealed that he will leave the band.

Another debutant for Melodifestivalen is Simon Forsberg. He shares his interest in music with athletics where he is an elite sprinter. He participated in TV show Fame Factory and won the title Mr Gay Sweden this summer. Simon will sing Tid att andas written by Fredrik Kempe.

Dilba is a well known DJ, poker player and artist. She will also participate for the first time with the song Try Again, written by Niklas Pettersson and Linda Sonnvik. Finally, another Melodifestivalen beginner but a very experienced artist is former A-Teens' member Sara Lumholdt. Former band member Marie Serneholt has been tipped to return to the competition for 2011 as well, setting up a possible battle of the former band mates. Sara will sing Enemy written by Niclas Lundin and Anton Malmberg Hård af Segerstedt.

The eight acts will join Linda Bengtzing, Pernilla Andersson, Lasse Stefanz and Swingfly in the Melodifestivalen semi finals. In total, 32 acts will once again participate for the right to represent Sweden at the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest, and take the country back to the grand final after Anna Bergendahl missed out on qualification earlier this year. Finishing 11th in the second semi final in Oslo.

Special thanks to Anders Ringquist for the information in this article.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!