Australia: Isaiah Firebrace on fellow Australian Anja Nissen

by Eliza-Jane Oliver 1,068 views

Eurovision 2017 in Kyiv is set to be the battle of the Australian singing competition shows, with Isaiah Firebrace, who won the final series of the Australian X-Factor in 2016 and Anja Nissen, who won the Voice Australia in 2014 both taking part.

While Isaiah is representing Australia with his song Don’t come easy, Anja – who grew up in Australia with Danish parents – is the Danish entry this year and will be performing Where I am

Isaiah has said he is a fan of Anja’s and is looking forward to meeting her in Kyiv, he has said:

She’s a great singer, she’s awesome. When she did The Voice she was my favourite.I can’t wait to meet her. Not only is she an awesome singer but she seems like a nice girl so I can’t wait to connect with her.

Isaiah has been vying to compete in Eurovision 2017 ever since he won the X Factor in 2016 and had been hoping to take part ever since Jessica Mauboy performed in the interval of the 2014 contest.

When Jess (Mauboy) performed, I thought ‘Oh my God, Australian can do it, we’re allowed to be there now. And then seeing what Guy and Dami did was incredible. I have always wanted to perform on the world stage so Eurovision was a dream when I realised Australia was involved.

The Danish entry this year has strong links to Australia, as the song was co-written by Anja and fellow Australians Angel Tupai, who was a finalist in the 2012 Australian X-Factor and Australian producer Michael D’Arcy. Anja came close to representing Denmark last year when she came second in the Dansk Melodi Grand Prix with the song Never Alone, she then went on to win the 2017 selection with 64% of the final vote.

Denmark 2017

Australia 2017

The 2017 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 9, 11 and 13 May at the IEC in Kyiv, Ukraine.




ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!