Germany: Three Eurovision winners invited to Unser Song 2017

by Jessica Weaver 265 views

German national broadcaster, ARD, has revealed the names of the special guests set to appear and perform at the country’s national final, Unser Song 2017, on Thursday!

Having already confirmed Germany’s 2010 Eurovision winner, Lena, appearance on Unser Song 2017 as a judge, ARD has now confirmed that a further 3 Eurovision winners from previous years will also fly to Germany for Thursday’s national final.

Three Eurovision winners unite!

The three grand Eurovision winners set to appear on Unser Song 2017 include Germany’s first ever winning artist Nicole, Ukraine’s first winner from 2004 Ruslana, and Austria’s most recent winner to date Conchita Wurst.

Together they will perform a medley of 3 winning Eurovision entries from previously entries, but there’s a twist; each performer will not sing their own winning Eurovision entry!

  • Nicole, who originally won the competition with her song Ein bisschen frieden, will perform Austria’s winning song from 1966, Merci chérie.
  • Wild dances singer and previous Ukrainian winner, Ruslana, will perform Sweden’s winning entry from 2012, Euphoria.
  • Rise like a phoenix singer Conchita Wurst will perform Germany’s 2010 entry and Unser Song 2017 judge, Lena’s, winning hit Satellite.

Both Matthias Schweighöfer and Tim Bendzko, the latter of whom is an Unser Song 2017 judge, will also perform their recent singles during the show.

Eurovision Vibes explained

Confirming the introduction of Eurovision Vibes earlier this week, ARD earlier today released an in-depth explaining more about the app and how it will be used before and during the show. Check it out!

Unser Song 2017 on the 9 February

Earlier this month, ARD released the names of the 5 shortlisted artists set to compete in Unser Song 2017 on the 9 February; Axel Feige, Felicia Lu Kürbiß, Helene Nissen, Levina and Yosefin Buohler. The show will once again be hosted by Barbara Schöneberger live from Cologne and will air on Das Erste and EinsFestival from 20:15 CET.

The artists will perform a total of 3 entries each; the first song will be a cover version of a known hit whilst the remaining 2 songs will be the bidding German entries for the competition; Wildfire (composed by Tofer Brown, Marit Larsen and Greg Holden) and Perfect life (composed by Lindsey Ray, Lindy Robbins and Dave Bassett).

Although the 5 bidding acts will be performing to both the international public as well as a 3-member jury consisting of members Lena, Tim Bendzko and Florian Silbereisen, it will be solely down to the German televote to decide which act will represent the nation at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!