The results of the second Eurovision Song Contest 2009 semi final

by Marcus Klier 51 views

Tonight, the second semi final of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest was held. 19 countries competed and ten were chosen to move forward to the grand final this Saturday, 16th May.

Nine of the qualifiers were chosen by televoting. The tenth country was the one that placed the highest in the jury voting without qualifying through televoting.

The qualifiers are:

  • Azerbaijan – AySel & Arash – Always
  • Croatia – Igor Cukrov feat. Andrea – Lijepa Tena
  • Ukraine – Svetlana Loboda – Be my Valentine! (Anti-crisis girl)
  • Lithuania – Sasha Son – Love
  • Albania – Kejsi Tola – Carry me in your dreams
  • Moldova – Nelly Ciobanu – Hora din Moldova
  • Denmark – Brinck – Believe again
  • Estonia – Urban Symphony – Rändajad
  • Norway – Alexander Rybak – Fairytale
  • Greece – Sakis Rouvas – This is our night

The order in which the songs appear is the same order in which they were drawn in the semi final. This is neither the order of placement nor the running order in the final. The drawn of the running order will take place during the press conference held after the show.

The eliminated countries are:

  • Ireland
  • Latvia
  • Serbia
  • Poland
  • Cyprus
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Hungary
  • Netherlands

The grand final will be held this Saturday, 16th May at 21:00 CET.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!