Live:The Eurovision Semi Final draw

by Stella Floras 131 views

The Eurovision 2009 semi final draw will start in a few minutes and it will be webcast live through Eurovision.tv. The draw starts at 13.00 CET

To watch the live streaming you need Windows Media Player and the Octoshape plugin. It can be downloaded here.

Live streaming will be provided here.

Esctoday.com will be covering the draw live but if we cannot cope with the demand for people accessing the site, please join our facebook group and we will send the list to all members as soon as the draw is complete. You can join our facebook group here.

The six pots are from which the 38 countries will be drawn in the two semi finals are as follows:

Pot 1
Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, FYR Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia

Pot 2
Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden

Pot 3
Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Israel, Moldova, Ukraine

Pot 4
Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Greece, the Netherlands, Turkey

Pot 5
Andorra, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Portugal, Romania

Pot 6
Czech Republic, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Switzerland

The six pots containing the 38 countries that will be drawn into the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest semi finals have been announced this morning. The draw will take place live in Moscow at 13:00 CET.
The pots were composed by Digame, the Eurovision Song Contest's televoting partner since 2004, based on average voting patterns between 2004 and 2008.

And the live coverage has started. The six glass bowls containing the names of the 38 countries are here,

1st semi final

  1. Bosnia & Herzegovina
  2. Sweden
  3. Israel
  4. Belgium
  5. Andorra
  6. Czech Republic
  7. Montenegro
  8. Iceland
  9. Georgia
  10. Bulgaria
  11. Portugal
  12. Switzerland
  13. FYR Macedonia
  14. Finland
  15. Belarus
  16. Turkey
  17. Romania
  18. Malta
  19. Armenia

2nd Semi final

  1. Slovenia
  2. Denmark
  3. Azerbaijan
  4. Netherlands
  5. Latvia
  6. Hungary
  7. Serbia
  8. Norway
  9. Ukraine
  10. Greece
  11. Lithuania
  12. Poland
  13. Croatia
  14. Estonia
  15. Moldova
  16. Cyprus
  17. Ireland
  18. Slovakia
  19. Albania

In addition, the five pre-qualified finalists are drawn to the semi finals to determine where they will be able to vote. United Kingdom, Germany and Spain will vote in the first semi final. Russia and France will vote in the second semi final.

Keep in mind that this is not the draw for the running order in the semi finals. The draw for the running order will take place on 17th March during the tradional Head of Delegation meeting in Moscow.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at vacancies@esctoday.com!

Stella Floras

Thanks to Johnny Logan and Hold me now I fell in love with the Eurovision Song Contest, a love that's been going strong ever since with undiminished passion. My first memories date back to 1977 and the lyrics of Rock bottom, Dschinghis Khan and A ba ni bi are still engraved in my brain.

I joined esctoday.com in 2006 as a junior editor after being invited by Barry Viniker, I soon became Senior Editor and during the 2007 contest in Helsinki I was appointed Head of Communications. Today I hold the post of Head of Human Resources and I am proud to be working with the best editorial team in the world.