Malta chooses Eurovision entry on February 7th

by Benny Royston 54 views

PBS have confirmed that after discussions with UKAM (the Union of Maltese Singers and Songwriters), there have been some minor changes to the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest selection process. 56 songs have been selected to compete in the 'Eurobox' semi finals from November, with Eurosong 2009 taking place on February 7th. The 56 songs selected will be released on a special triple CD.

Eight weekly Eurobox shows will present seven songs in each episode. The 20 best entries will proceed to the national final at the MFCC in Ta' Qali. In a change to last year, performers will only be allowed one entry in the final.

During the final, the twenty songs will compete for one of three places in the superfinal as decided by judges. The three songs chosen will then battle in a televote for the right to represent Malta at the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest in Moscow and attempt to reach the final for the first time since 2006.

The dates of the Eurobox shows are:

  • November 8th
  • November 15th
  • November 29th
  • December 6th
  • December 13th
  • December 20th
  • January 3rd
  • January 10th

Eurosong 2009 takes place on February 7th

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!