Stories going around about new Eurovision format

by Sietse Bakker 183 views

The Finnish press agency STT reported that the EBU has made a decision on the format for the future of the Eurovision Song Contest.

According to the press release of STT, almost 40 countries can participate in the new format. The top 10 of the year before and the Big 4 (France, Germany, Spain and the United Kingdom) are sure of participation, the other 10 participants will be selected the day before the contest in a pre-selection. It's unknown how this will happen and if this pre-selection will be broadcast. 24 countries can participate at the Eurovision Song Contest itself with this format.

The EBU told us earlier that the details regarding the new format would be released this weekend and they would let us know as soon as there was information available, but as far as now we haven't heard from them yet.

More information will be available soon.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!