UPD Cyprus JESC: Yiorgos Ioannides to Rotterdam

by Stella Floras 152 views

Tonight CyBC held the Cypriot national final for the 2007 Eurovision Song Contest. The night's winner was Yiorgos Ioanides with the song I mousiki dinei ftera. Yiorgos was the jury's favourite but he came second in the televoters preference.

The following eight acts competed for the ticket to Rotterdam and these are the complete results of the televote (50%) and jury vote (50%):

1. Giannis Karagiannis – Chrysa ftera 1609 votes – Jury: 8 points
2. Eleana, Emily, Eva & Margarita – Mia zoi olo rythmo 2456 votes – Jury: 1 point
3. Giorgos Ioannou – S.O.S. 1481votes – Jury: 6 points
4. Christodoula Tsaggara – Soste to perivalon1757 votes – Jury 4 points
5. Yiorgos Ioannides – I mousiki dinei ftera 2820 votes- Jury: 10 votes
6. Dimitra, Georgia, Stefanie & Nakis – Pediki zografia 3341 votes – Jury: 5 points
7. Elena Manouri – I zoi mas mia mousiki 2663 votes – Jury: 2 points
8. Antonis Poullis – Thelo na grapso melodia 2400 votes Jury: – 3points

The first three songs were:

01. Yiorgos Ioannides – I mousiki dinei ftera
02. Dimitra, Georgia, Stefanie & Nakis – Pediki zografia
03. Giannis Karagiannis – Chrysa ftera

UPDATE You can watch Yiorgos perform at the Cypriot national final here.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!

Stella Floras

Thanks to Johnny Logan and Hold me now I fell in love with the Eurovision Song Contest, a love that's been going strong ever since with undiminished passion. My first memories date back to 1977 and the lyrics of Rock bottom, Dschinghis Khan and A ba ni bi are still engraved in my brain.

I joined esctoday.com in 2006 as a junior editor after being invited by Barry Viniker, I soon became Senior Editor and during the 2007 contest in Helsinki I was appointed Head of Communications. Today I hold the post of Head of Human Resources and I am proud to be working with the best editorial team in the world.