Eurovision 2014: Czech Republic will not participate in Copenhagen

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 4,938 views

CT, Ceska Televizie, the Czech national broadcaster has confirmed to  that the Czech Republic will not participate at the forthcoming  2014 Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen, Denmark. 

The Czech Republic joins Andorra, Luxembourg, Morocco, Croatia, Slovakia and Monaco, all of whom have confirmed their absence at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.

The Czech Republic has been absent from the event since 2010. The landlocked central European country debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2007 with Kabat’s Mala Dama and has competed in the event 3 times. 2009 marked the last participation of the Czech Republic with with Aven Romale. The country never qualified for the Eurovision Song Contest final. Hence due to low viewing rates and poor results the broadcaster decided to withdraw from the contest in 2010 and has not returned since. Will we see the  Czech Republic back in the contest in 2015?

Sweden, DenmarkFinland, Norway, France, Albania, Iceland, Ireland, San Marino, Georgia, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Estonia, Malta, Russia, Germany, AustriaFYR Macedonia, Montenegro, Belgium, Spain and Latvia have all confirmed their participation at the forthcoming Eurovision Song Contest next year in Denmark. Whilst Italy, Belarus, Ukraine, Moldova, Hungary, Lithuania and Slovenia have said they will most likely be in the competition.

The 2014 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 6,8 and 10 May at the B & W Hall in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Stay tuned to for the latest news on the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.