Nonstop wins Barbara Dex award 2006

by Sietse Bakker 1,629 views

Nonstop, the group which represented Portugal at this year's Eurovision Song Contest, won the Barbara Dex Award, the fan award for the worst costume at the competition, by a landslide. Lordi comes second.

The top-10 of this year's Barbara Dex award:

1. Portugal – Nonstop – 196 votes
2. Finland – Lordi – 89 votes
3. Iceland – Silvia Night – 75 votes
4. Andorra – Jennifer – 72 votes
5. Poland – Ich Troje – 62 votes
6. Belarus – Polina Smolova – 57 votes
Greece – Anna Vissi – 57 votes
8. Turkey – Sibel Tuzun – 40 votes
9. Malta – Fabrizio Faniello – 35 votes
10. Russia – Dima Bilan – 26 votes

The award is named after Barbara Dex, who represented Belgium in the 1993 contest. She wore an "awfull, self-made dress that evening", the organisers of the annual award state at their website.

Six4one, Eddie Butler and Christine Guldbrandsen survived the vote; none of them got any votes for the Barbara Dex award.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!