EBU: 16 countries signed up for Junior 2006

by Sietse Bakker 56 views

So far, 16 broadcasters have signed a preliminary agreement to participate in the fourth Junior Eurovision Song Contest, to be hosted by TVR in the sports arena Sala Polivalenta, in Bucharest on 2nd December. The EBU announced that, not revealing which 16 broadcasters signed up so far.

Draw on 17th October
A final list of countries will be released in the next few weeks and the draw for the running and voting orders for the 2006 contest will be held in Bucharest on 17th October.

Older brother
“Although inspired by its older brother, the Eurovision Song Contest, the format and rules of the junior contest are adapted for children”, says Svante Stockselius, EBU's supervisor of the contest. “Last year's event, which was hosted in Belgium, featured great junior talents and attracted nearly 30 million viewers. It's great family entertainment � we are really looking forward to the next show”, he added.

Major differences
Unlike the adult version, however, the young singers must compose their own songs and perform them in their respective national languages. Other major differences with the junior format are that the rules include an ethical section to ensure that the rights of the child artists are protected and respected. For example, a proper dress code is compulsory and adult-like make up and provocative choreography are not allowed. The winning country also does not have the automatic right to stage the show the following year. The venue is decided in advance to avoid putting unnecessary pressure on the junior artists.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!