by Sietse Bakker 361 views

As expected, 38 countries will participate in the 2006 Eurovision Song Contest, which takes place in Athens, Greece. The European Broadcasting Union confirmed that moments ago. Armenia joins the big family, while Austria and Hungary will stay home.

The semifinal (24 countries) on 18th May;

� Albania (RTVSH)
� Andorra (RTVA)
� Armenia (PTV)
� Belarus (BT)
� Belgium (VRT)
� Bosnia & Herzegovina (PBSBiH)
� Bulgaria (BNT)
� Croatia (HRT)
� Cyprus (CyBC)
� Estonia (ETV)
� Finland (YLE)
� FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
� Iceland (RUV)
� Ireland (RTÉ)
� Lithuania (LRT)
� Monaco (TMC)
� The Netherlands (NOS)
� Poland (TVP)
� Portugal (RTP)
� Russia (C1R)
� Slovenia (RTVSLO)
� Sweden (SVT)
� Turkey (TRT)
� Ukraine (NTU)

The following 10 countries already qualified for the final on 20th May;

� Denmark (DR)
� France (France 3)
� Germany (ARD)
� Greece (ERT)
� Israel (IBA)
� Latvia (LTV)
� Malta (PBSMT)
� Moldova (TRM)
� Norway (NRK)
� Romania (TVR)
� Serbia & Montenegro (UJRT)
� Spain (TVE)
� Switzerland (SRG SSR idée suisse)
� United Kingdom (BBC)

The best 10 songs of the semifinal will qualify for the final.

The running order of the songs will be determined by a draw to be held during the Heads of Delegation meeting in Athens, on 20th and 21st March.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!