Exclusive: the line-up of 'Congratulations'

by Sietse Bakker 244 views

For months, it was unsure how the Eurovision Song Contest's 50th anniversary show Congratulations would look like. Today, this comes to an end, as we are in the honourable position to present you a first rough overview of the show's line-up… thanks to an inside source! As the show's final line-up can end last-minute, remember it's a rough, preliminary version.

After the traditional Eurovision-hymne, Cliff Richard will open the show (recorded video message), telling a story about victory and 50 years Eurovision Song Contest. Host broadcaster DR's radio orchestra will play several songs; Congratulations, Ding-a-dong, Abanibi, C'est le dernier qui a parlé qui a raison, Dschinghis Khan and finally… Love shine a light, which seems to be an excellent moment to welcome the show's host, Katrina Leskanich.

The songs
After a video about 50 winners of 50 years Eurovision Song Contest, Carola (Sweden 1983, 1991) will announce the first of the 14 participating songs in the all-time favourites contest, Congratulations. After the original performance, Sir Cliff Richard will tell a small story and he will announce Massiel (Spain 1968), who will present the second song What's another year. The hosts will announce the third song Diva. Dana International (Israel 1998) will announce the fourth song, Eres tú. After a theme video – we are not going to reveil the surprises – Ein bisschen Frieden will be introduced. Sandra Kim (Belgium 1986) will announce Nel blu di pinto di blu, better known as Volare. The Bobbysocks (Norway 1985) will introduce Waterloo. The performance of the 1974 winner will be combined with a Finnish surprise!

After another theme video, the hosts will introduce Fly on the wings of love. Riva (Yugoslavia 1989) will introduce Poupée de cire, poupée de son. After a break, Marie Myriam (France 1977) will introduce Everyway that I can. Sertab (Turkey 2003) will introduce Ne partez pas sans moi. After a special message from Céline Dion, Hold me now will be introduced. Cheryl Baker, one of the members of Bucks Fizz, will introduce Save your kisses for me. Lys Assia, the winner of the first ever Eurovision Song Contest in 1956, will introduce the last Eurovision Song Contest winner My number one.

Time to televote!
After the 14 songs, the first televoting window opens. After the interval act (another surprise), the first voting ends and a seven minute medley will be performed by Dana International, Carola, Alsou, Fabrizio Faniello, Richard Herrey, Birthe Kjaer and Marie Myriam. After a break, Johnny Logan will take care of another interval act.

After the top five has been announced, televoters have 4 more minutes to vote for their all-time favourite. After a second medley, the second televoting window closes and Nicole & Hugo (Belgium 1973) will say a word to the viewers. Ronan Keating will perform and another surprise theme video, the Olsen Brothers will perform a small medley as well.

And the winner is…
The winner of Congratulations will be known around 23:30 CET, which also marks the end of a memorable show which will most likely exceed all expectations!

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!