Mentors for The Irish Eurosong 2013 announced

by Juha Repo 113 views

The Irish broadcaster RTÉ has already announced previously, that they are going to be using the same format for the national final Eurosong as in the past two years. It will be five mentors looking after one candidate each, and the national final will be broadcast once again as part of the Late Late Show on 22 February 2013. 

Today RTÉ revealed the names of the mentors: Radio and TV presenter Mairéad Farrell, writer and performer Shay Healy, radio DJ and producer Mark McCabe, songwriter Niall Mooney and producer Stuart O’Connor make up the mentors line-up this time. Shay Healy is of course famous internationally for writing Johnny Logan’s 1980 winning Eurovision entry What’s another year. Niall Mooney was part of the songwriting teams for Ireland’s entries in 2009 and 2010.

In the coming weeks the mentors will be looking for the best acts and songs to represent the country, and the acts and their songs will be announced in the New Year. The songs will be played for the first time on the Late Late Show Eurosong 2013 in February.

The Irish Eurovision Song Contest entry for Malmö will be once again decided by a combination of a public vote and regional juries.

Source:  RTÉ