Georgia: GPB reveals commentators for Eurovision 2019

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 2,565 views

GPB, the Georgian national broadcaster, has revealed the commentators for the forthcoming 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv.

Elene Kalandadze and Gaga Abashidze will guide the Georgian audience during the three live Eurovision Song Contest shows from Tel Aviv.

Gaga Abashidze is a member of Iriao ethnic jazz band, which presented Georgia at last year’s Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon.

Elene Kalandadze hosted the 2017 Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Tblisi, Georgia.

Georgia will broadcast all three Eurovision shows live from Tel Aviv on GPB 1.

Georgia in Eurovision

Georgia debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2007 with Sopho Khalvashi’s Visionary dream and is yet to win the competition. The country achieved its best results in the contest in Oslo (2010) and Dusseldorf (2011) when it placed 9th in the Grand Final.

Georgia has competed 11 times in Europe’s favorite television show, the country has partaken in the event every year since their debut in 2007 with the exception of 2009 when the nation opted to stay out of the competition.

Oto Nemsadze won the 2019 Georgian national final and was crowned the winner of Georgian Idol 2019. He will represent his homeland in Tel Aviv with his entry ‘Sul tsin iare‘.

Oto Nemsadze will compete in the First Semi-final of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv on 14 May