Introducing 2011: Poland

by Marcus Klier 161 views

All songs for the Eurovision Song Contest 2011 have been selected. During the weeks between the national final season and the actual Eurovision Song Contest, we will introduce all 43 entries in random order. The forty-third and final part of the series is dedicated to the Polish entry.

Basic information

Performer: Magdalena Tul
Song: Jestem (I am)
Language: Polish
Music: Magdalena Tul
Lyrics: Magdalena Tul

1st in the first semi final

The song

Jestem is an up-tempo pop song. Through the lyrics, the protagonist sings her beloved one's praise:

Teraz wreszcie pewno�� mam
To ty kwiaty do mnie �lesz co dnia

Jestem Twym natchnieniem
Dla �ez ukojeniem
Twój Å�wiat krÄ�ci siÄ� wokóÅ� mnie
Jeste� moim cieniem

That’s you
You keep sending me flowers day by day

I’m your inspiration
The consolation for your tears
Your world is spinning around me
You’re like my shadow

The performer and songwriter

Magdalena Tul achieved her master's degree in music in 2004. Already before she had starred in various musical productions in Poland. Her first major appearance in the professional music business occured in 2005, when she recoreded a song for the Polish version of the Walt Disney film The Emperor's new groove. Furthermore, she competed in various national and international music festivals both as a singer and as a songwriter. In 2007, her debut album VOH – Victory of the heart was released.

Using the pseudonym Lady Tullo, Magdelana Tul was in the running to represent Poland in the Eurovision Song Contest in 2005 with Full of life, but she only placed ninth in the internal selection. In 2011, she took part in the televised national final and could win by a clear margin getting 44.47% of the votes for her own composition Jestem.

The national selection

Ten acts competed in the Polish national final. The winner was chosen by televoting.

Poland in the Eurovision Song Contest

Poland has entered the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994 and achieved second place, which is still the country's best result in the competition. The only other top ten placing came in 2003. Between 2005 and 2007, Poland was eliminated in the semi finals, but came very close in 2005 and 2006, when they finished eleventh two years in a row. In 2008, the country made it to the final again but finished equal 23rd and hence last. In 2009 and 2010, the country was elminated in the semi finals.


This will be Poland's 16th participation in the Eurovision Song Contest. For the seventh time, the country is represented by a female solo performer. For the second time in total and for the first time since 1999, the Polish entry is performed entirely in Polish. It is the fourth entry not to contain any words in English.

Jestem is the first song to be performed in the first semi final. For the second time, Poland opens the contest. The first time that Poland was drawn first occured in 1995, when Justyna would finish 18th with Sama. Five of the songs opening the semi finals since 2004, which means exactly the half, managed to qualify for the final. Remarkably, four of them were up-tempo (or at least very energetic). The only slow(er) song that managed to qualify was Lijepa Tena in 2009 thanks to the jury wildcard. Of course, this might be a good sign for Poland. On the other hand, the Polish entry is the first out of seven faster songs in a row at the beginning of the first semi final.

Dużo szczÄ�Å�cia i osiÄ�gniÄ�cie dobrych wyników w Düsseldorf życzymy Polsce oraz Magdaleni Tul


Live performance in the national final:

The preview video:

Full of life, 2004:

Nie ma jej, another song:

This was the last part of the series. You can find the links to all articles below:

  1. Estonia
  2. Italy
  3. Croatia
  4. Slovakia
  5. Lithuania
  6. Finland
  7. Switzerland
  8. Ukraine
  9. Norway
  10. Moldova
  11. Belgium
  12. Azerbaijan
  13. Ireland
  14. Portugal
  15. Austria
  16. Latvia
  17. France
  18. Bosnia & Herzegovina
  19. Romania
  20. Sweden
  21. Bulgaria
  22. Armenia
  23. Denmark
  24. Cyprus
  25. Spain
  26. Belarus
  27. San Marino
  28. Malta
  29. Germany
  30. Georgia
  31. Greece
  32. Iceland
  33. Serbia
  34. Turkey
  35. Netherlands
  36. Hungary
  37. Albania
  38. Slovenia
  39. Russia
  40. United Kingdom
  41. FYR Macedonia
  42. Israel