Introducing 2011: Albania

by Marcus Klier 50 views

All songs for the Eurovision Song Contest 2011 have been selected. During the weeks between the national final season and the actual Eurovision Song Contest, we will introduce all 43 entries in random order. We are half way through and part thirty-seven of the series is dedicated to the Albanian entry.

Basic information

Performer: Aurela Gaçe
Song: Feel the passion
Language: English
Music: Shpetim Saraci
Lyrics: Sokol Marsi

3rd in the first semi final

The song

Feel the passion is an up-tempo pop rock song. The lyrics are a declaration of love:

And wherever I go
I just want you to know
You're the blood in my veins
And the love in my soul

Let me share my song with you
Just feel the passion
Love the message shining through
A chain reaction

The performer

Aurela Gaçe is best known for her participations in many music festivals in Albania since she was a child. In 1993, she competed in the Festivali i Këngës for the first time. In 1995 she took part the second time and she wouldn't miss a single edition of the contest until 1999, when she won for the first time with S'jam tribu. A second victory followed only two years later with the song Ndjej. The same year she moved to New York where she has been living since. Over the years, she has released four studio albums.

In 2009, the singer appeared in the duets night of the Festivali i Këngës performing the song Jehonë with West Side Family. However, she was not actually taking part in the competition. In December 2010, she returned to the competition as a contestant. With Kënga ime she won the festival for the third time and also became the Albanian representative in the Eurovision Song Contest 2011. In Düsseldorf she will perform the English version of the song entitled Feel the passion.

The songwriters

Feel the passion was written by Shpetim Saraci (music) and Sokol Marsi (lyrics). Shpetim Saraçi is a frequent contestant in the Festivali i Këngës. Among others, he wrote the music to the runner-up entry Një jetë (performed by Juliana Pasha and Luiz Ejlli) in 2008. Sokol Marsi is the man behind Në pasqyrë, Anjeza Shahini's entry in the 2009 festival.

The national selection

As every year since the country's debut, the winning entry of the Festivali i Këngës, held in December 2010, was also selected to become the Albanian entry in the Eurovision Song Contest. The show consisted of two semi finals and a grand final, which 18 artists competed in.

Albania in the Eurovision Song Contest

Albania joined the Eurovision Song Contest in 2004 and achieved its only top ten placing in a final to date that year. The country was less successful since finishing 16th in 2005 and being eliminated in the 2006 and 2007 semi finals. Since then, Albania has always made it to the final finishing 16th twice and 17th once.


This will be Albania's eighth participation in the Eurovision Song Contest. For the sixth time overall and for the fourth time in a row the country is represented by a female solo performer. Feel the passion is the sixth Albanian entry in total and the third one in a row to be performed mainly in English. However, it also includes two lines in Albanian.

Feel the passion is the third song to be performed in the first semi final. It is preceeded by the afro-fusion pop song from Norway and it is followed by the dance pop song from Armenia. A disadvantage might be the fact that the Albanian entry is performed in the middle of a streak of no less than seven energetic songs at the beginning of the first semi final. Along with number two, number three has been considered one of the worst positions in the draw since televoting was introduced. In fact, only two songs ever managed to qualify from a semi final from the position: The Turkish entry in 2008 and the Israeli entry last year. However, Milim would have not qualified based on televoting alone.

I deshirojme Shqiperise dhe Aurela Gaçes shume fat dhe nje rezultat shume te mire ne Düsseldorf!


Live performance in the national final:

The preview video:

S'jam tribu (1999):

Ndjej (2001):

Tomorrow, we will take a look at the Slovene entry.

Previous parts of the series:

  1. Estonia
  2. Italy
  3. Croatia
  4. Slovakia
  5. Lithuania
  6. Finland
  7. Switzerland
  8. Ukraine
  9. Norway
  10. Moldova
  11. Belgium
  12. Azerbaijan
  13. Ireland
  14. Portugal
  15. Austria
  16. Latvia
  17. France
  18. Bosnia & Herzegovina
  19. Romania
  20. Sweden
  21. Bulgaria
  22. Armenia
  23. Denmark
  24. Cyprus
  25. Spain
  26. Belarus
  27. San Marino
  28. Malta
  29. Germany
  30. Georgia
  31. Greece
  32. Iceland
  33. Serbia
  34. Turkey
  35. Netherlands
  36. Hungary