Introducing 2011: Bulgaria

by Marcus Klier 130 views

All songs for the Eurovision Song Contest 2011 have been selected. During the weeks between the national final season and the actual Eurovision Song Contest, we will introduce all 43 entries in random order. Part twenty-one of the series is dedicated to the Bulgarian entry.

Basic information

Performer: Poli Genova (�оли �енова)
Song: Na inat (Ð�а инаÑ� – No matter what)
Language: Bulgarian
Music: Sebastian Arman, David Bronner, Borislav Milanov, Poli Genova
Lyrics: Sebastian Arman, David Bronner, Borislav Milanov, Poli Genova

10th in the second semi final

The song

Na inat is a mid-tempo pop rock song. Through the lyrics the protagonist tells that she is going to head for her aims despite the obstacles in her way:

��ма да наме��� п�� к�м мен
��ма да о�нема� мой�а в��а
��ка� да погледна�, пак над мен
�е, �е

�о да, знам, �е наме�� �ила в мен
Ð� небеÑ�о да доÑ�Ñ�игна –
Ð�а инаÑ�, на инаÑ�…

They will not find a way to me
They will not take my faith
They want to look again over me
No, no

But yes, I know, I will find strength in me
Even to reach the sky –
No matter what, no matter what…

The performer

Poli Genova has been part of the music business in Bulgaria since her childhood as she joined the group Bon-Bon at the age of only eight. Later she studied music and performed with the group Melody. In 2005, they took part in the first ever Bulgarian national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest with the song Otkry me sega finishing ninth. The year after they returned as Melody Traffic and came fourth with Love that you can't see.

In 2009, Poli Genova competed in the Bulgarian national selection as a soloist. She did not have to go through the heats, quarter finals and the semi final as her song One lifetime is not enough was one of the wildcards chosen to compete directly in the final. Eventually it finished second. In 2010, the singer was among the contestants in the internal performer selection. In 2011, she competed in the Bulgarian national final one more time this time winning with Na inat.

The songwriters

Na inat was written by Sebastian Arman, David Bronner, Borislav Milanov and Poli Genova herself. Sebastian Arman and David Bronner are a songwriting team from Austria. The latter has already worked with acts such as Erste Allgemeine Verunsicherung, Die Prinzen, Florian Ast and 2002 Austrian Eurovision Song Contest representative Manuel Ortega.

The national selection

The Bulgarian national selection was a one-evening show this year. 19 acts competed and the winner was chosen by a jury and televoting.

Bulgaria in the Eurovision Song Contest

Bulgaria debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 2005. After unsuccessful attempts in the first two years, Bulgaria made it to the final in 2007 and finished fifth overall. However, it remains the country's only appearance in the final to date.


This will be Bulgaria's seventh participation in the Eurovision Song Contest. For the second time the country will be represented by female solo performer. It will also be the second Bulgarian entry to be performed entirely in the national language. Last year, their song was mainly performed in Bulgarian as well but it also featured a verse in English.

Na inat is the tenth song to be performed in the second semi final. It is preceeded by the mid-tempo pop ballad from Cyprus and it is followed by the up-tempo/mid-tempo pop rock song from FYR Macedonia. A disavantage might therefore be the fact that the song is followed by an entry in a similar style.

�елаем ��пе� на ��лга�и� и �оли �енова и �илно п�ед��ав�не ���елдо��в!


Live performance in the national final:

The preview video:

Poli Genova in the 2010 national final:

As part of Melody in 2005:

Melody Traffic in 2006:

Tomorrow, we will take a look at the Armenian entry.

Previous parts of the series:

  1. Estonia
  2. Italy
  3. Croatia
  4. Slovakia
  5. Lithuania
  6. Finland
  7. Switzerland
  8. Ukraine
  9. Norway
  10. Moldova
  11. Belgium
  12. Azerbaijan
  13. Ireland
  14. Portugal
  15. Austria
  16. Latvia
  17. France
  18. Bosnia & Herzegovina
  19. Romania
  20. Sweden